Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Testimonial

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

I've owned spas in the past and recently installed a new Masterspa twighlight 8.25. It's by far the best experience I've had in terms of install, delivery, quality and price.. The neck jets are second to none.. This tub is so much easier to care for than any other spa...
View full review
Review
#906391 Review #906391 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality
Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas Hot Tub Review from Springfield, Oregon

Thank you for your recent post regarding your Legacy hot tub. The Legacy Whirlpool line of spas has a 3 year surface and structure warranty and a 1 year parts and labor warranty. Our records show 1 service claim submitted to us that resolved the issue you had at the time and that we subsequently paid the local service provider for the work performed. If you have further issues, please reach out to our Customer Care Team at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com .
Review
#894388 Review #894388 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • You did not stand behind your producct
Reason of review
$$$$ to repair your Spa!!!!
Loss
$1700
Preferred solution
Full refund

We have done nothing but put money into the repairs of our Legacy Whirlpool by Master Spas Hot tub that we purchased in Portland Oregon Expo Center Traveling Spa show. It has not been an enjoyable venture with the Legacy Whirlpool by Master Spas.

shortly after our purchase of our hot tub the main board in our tub went out and they tried to get out of paying for the repairs. We have owed this POS for about 3 years now and we have had to put another $1,000.00 into repairs into it.

we are ready to just make it into a big fish pond but we ave too much money into it do do that just yet.

Not Happy Oregon,

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas is horrible

Thank you for your recent review. We’ve been in touch with the local dealer regarding your swim spa and this situation. Although this is an older model, both Master Spas and the local dealer have qualified technicians as well as access to documents, like the Owners Manual, and parts. We understand the local dealer is in touch with you regarding the issues stated in your review and we look forward to you enjoying your swim spa. If you have further questions please reach out to us at 800-860-7727 or Customercare@masterspas.com. Thank you.
Review
#894105 Review #894105 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Misleading information
  • Fraud
  • Poor attitude
Reason of review
poor customer service, problem with delivery, warranty issue, damaged or defective, Not as described
Loss
$13000
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Tags
  • Master Spas Sucks
  • Masterspas H2x Nightmare
  • Master Spas Fraud
  • Masterspas Cheat
  • Masterspas Poor Customer Service
  • Master Spa Defective
  • Master Spas Lemon
  • Masterspas Quality
1.9
Details

Update by user Sep 02, 2016

No further contact. Preparing legal paperwork.

Update by user Aug 12, 2016

Aqua Spas called me from this post but I was not home and I called them, which was hard, but was only able to leave a message. I hope they will do something to make this right.

I talked to a friend that is a lawyer and he tells me since I recently found out the spa was much older than the year represented and the 2008 spa is completely redesigned (on the inside) from the 2006 it would be reasonable for me to expect considerable damages. I could "go after them" and probably recover damages.

I will update as this proceeds. I have been without use of the swim end of this spa for 23 months SO FAR.

Original review posted by user Aug 03, 2016

I bought an older Master Spas Swim Spa from the local Master Spas Authorized Dealer (Aqua Spas in Greeley, Fort Collins, Colorado). What a mistake.

First they misrepresented the year of the spa. Even on my contract, not just verbally. It was older than they said. There is no way they could not or should not have known, I believe this is fraud.

I found out later when the spa broke and the parts I needed were for a newer redesigned model. From what I can tell the model I bought was only sold for one year and then it was completely redesigned. I wonder if that had something to do with the FRAUD? The spa came with a 90 day warranty and there were some issues which they fixed but the batteries were charging incorrectly before the warranty expired and they never did correct that problem.

When I call they are generally rude and not helpful. Last time I called 3 times and they never called back. I can't stand to call them ever again. The spa has had several new problems since the warranty expired but this authorized dealer has no clue how to fix them.

They sent up a repairman for $150. to tell me it was broken (which I obviously knew) but the repairman admitted they did not have a clue how to fix it. NOT A CLUE. Why are they selling a high maintenance product like a spa if they don't know how to service them?

I contacted Master Spas directly and apparently they have no service manuals or archives for this older spa either. Why would that information not be available to customers. It is hard to believe they would destroy every manual in existence. Getting rid of the evidence I guess?

I can't find a manual online anywhere. It is a 2006 H2X Master Spas Swim Spa. Maybe Michael Phelps can help me? Other misrepresentations were made I can't prove.

The salesman told me my electricity bill would go up about $75 or $80 dollars a month but it went up closer to $275.00. I lowered this considerably by insulating heavily. Still nowhere near $80. dollars a month.

I was promised exercise accessories too but since I did not force them to put it in the contract they denied the agreement. They damaged personal property when they delivered the spa by backing into it and even though I saw them do it they denied that too. I guess I should have called the police when it happened to document that damage.

I think this company should go out of business. If they don't I won't ever believe in Karma.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas in Lenexa, Kansas - One lie after another...

Thanks for your recent review. We're very sorry to hear that you're unhappy although it seems much of this is not based on fact. One of our Customer Care members will reach out to you to review these with you personally.
Review
#883774 Review #883774 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Representative service
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
The company should learn to operate with integrity...
Tags
  • Misleading Sales Information

Read the headline on this site and on their promotional material "operating out of a state-of-the-art 27 acre manufacturing campus". I suspect the truth is that they are operating out of a 27 acre industrial park shared with several other companies. Tell us how many square feet of manufacturing, how many sf office, how many sf warehouse! Google earth tells the tale, 'master spas ft wayne in'. It doesn't look like much of a campus to me.

Purchased at a Wichita, KS roadshow. Was led to believe was buying factory direct with no middleman. No, it was put on by an Oklahoma City store. So in fact the spa I purchased was actually burdened with the overhead from their brick and mortar store, renting the facility here, transport and staff to put on the weekend display and local saturation tv ads.

Was led to believe the spa worked with less chemicals. Their test strips are the same as any other test strip and there is no recommended chemical composition different from any other spa.

The real problem was a harmonic noise/vibration when the 1.5 hp motor ran in my small 3 person tub. It was impossible to stay in the tub. The Oklahoma City store had no solution. I don't even think they understood the problem so I eventually purchased a Balboa .5 hp motor online and replaced the 1.5 hp two-speed pump. The plumbing rework was not easy and I did need to make one wiring change but at least the tub is usable.

The manuals leave a lot to be desired. Mine clearly said to provide 50 amp electrical service yet the electrical labeling physically on the tub called for a much lower amperage which meant for me a lower cost for the electrical wiring and breakers.

Caveat emptor...a more intelligent purchase would have been to purchase from a local company.

Testimonial

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

Thanks spa pool bbq show for our new master spa. Seamless, from start to finish it was amazing. Went to your show at the fairgrounds and saw over 100 spas on display. Met by your sales staff who introduced himself and shook our hands, that's very important. We were...
View full review
Review
#883170 Review #883170 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality
Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas in Haughton, Louisiana - If you value your hard earned money DO NOT buy a Master Spa !

Thank you for reaching out to us. In talking with our Customer Care Department, they are aware of the situation you have had with your hot tub. They have also been discussing the situation with the dealer you purchased from. We will be having further discussions with the local dealer and follow up again with you. Thank you for your patience as this situation was just recently brought to our attention. Feel free to reach us directly at 800-860-7727 or customer care@masterspas.com in the future.
Review
#873620 Review #873620 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This spa was a major purchase for my husband and I. My husband has a bad back and we thought the spa could help.

This spa has not worked more than it has. Its has been a source of great aggravation and disappointment. Customer service from the dealer has been less than help. Finely sent service tech out after several months of their self diagnosis of thing for us to do and telling us we were doing something wrong.

Service tech was to install a new pump today but decided to go against manufacture required filter placement and change filters.

This is going to fix it, no need for new pump. Wonder what Master Spa thinks of this solution.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas Twilight Series - Company service review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that the dealer you purchased from didn't explain or review things with you at the time of delivery. Although you can always contact the retailer you purchased through with any questions, their information will be on your sales agreement, you can also contact us at customercare@masterspas.com and one of our representatives can help you.
Review
#872365 Review #872365 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Dear friends,

We are 1.5 years into our Master Spas Twilight series. Here's my warning to you. Never ever EVER buy directly from them. We bought it at a spa show in Denver and they delivered it directly to our home in Laramie Wyoming. That process was a disaster. It came two weeks late in January and the lid wasn't on it and there were dead twigs and ice water in the bottom. It was delivered by a, no way to say it other than to just say it, toothless rather clueless trucker who had all kinds of problems and was NOT at all associated with Master Spas and really had no idea about it.

Start up - what can I say? It was a disaster. Their verbal directions don't match the nearly unintelligible directions in the booklet that comes with the spa. Pre-filter? What is that? Oh, we'll send it to you. Oh, and pieces of the spa (the filter cover/drink holder) didn't come with the spa and also one of the jet controller covers was stripped.

Nowhere, anywhere, are there directions for how to control the jets. there are six easily stripped disk-like structures on that are to control bubbles and jets. Not one word is written anywhere about which disk controls which jets and trust me it isn't easy or logical to figure out.

We bought this because we were sold a bill of goods. "The Eco-Pure filter made it nearly maintenance free." What a crock! And good luck to you to try to figure out what the *** kind of chemicals you need and when you need to put in. Unless you are a spa brain surgeon you are in for hours of confusion and fighting with your spouse and the customer service people. You are supposed to test daily, before and after you use it...Oh I could go on and on.

And that isn't the worst part...their instructions are, as mentioned above, nearly unusable. They clearly did not hire professionals to write their sub-par user manual. Sanitizer? Is that the same as chlorine? Is that the same as Shock? There is no bottle that says the word sanitizer on it but they tell you throughout the booklet to use it.

There is no quick start guide. No video instructions. Trust me folks you are on your own and it's just different enough from other hot tub makers...this whole fabulous eco pure system. Well, as you can tell we are very frustrated and disappointed with the service after our purchase and regret like *** that we didn't buy from a dealer.

Maybe these spas are OK but do yourself a favor and unless you are an absolute guru do not buy direct from these guys.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas in Santa Cruz, California - Don't buy!

Thanks for letting us know about your situation. You can always contact the retailer you purchased from for help. Their information will be on your sales agreement. You can also reach out to us at customercare@masterspas.com and we'll be able to help you with most anything you need.
Review
#871068 Review #871068 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Tags
  • defective products
1.0
Details

We have had nothing but problems with our Master spa since we bought it. Worst Spa ever!

We have to drain the spa at least twice a month or the water is green. Customer service is horrible as well. We have made numerous calls to the sales man who tried to diagnose the problem over the phone, we have replaced the filters and yet none has ever even came out to look at the spa.

One of the selling points on this spa was that you would not have to use chemicals but that couldn't be farther from the truth. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your money on a master spa.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas in Renton, Washington - Paid premium price for substandard product and empty promises

Hi Michelle. Firstly I'd like to apologize for such a late response. We typically try to respond to our reviews as they come in, but somehow this one seemed to slip through the cracks and it wasn't discovered until now. We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your experiences with your dealer. We've talked to your dealer and will be sending you a complimentary set of filters for your trouble. If you're still having issues, please email our corporate offices at customerservice@masterspas.com so we can get those issues taken care of for you. Thank you so much for the honest feedback, and sorry again for the delayed response.
Review
#871021 Review #871021 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service, bad quality, problem with delivery, damaged or defective
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Price reduction
1.6
Details

Scott Witter is a used car salesman. Promises, promises, promises.....until you give him your credit card and drive away. We were told it was a brand new hot tub. I think it was the floor model due to the scuffs and scratches on the edges. We also noted a large crack in the outer casing around the pump and hardware. We were promised it would be cleaned and buffed before we received it. We were told the cracked outer shell would be replaced prior to delivery. We were told we "needed" to have it delivered the next week because they didn't want to bring any inventory back with them to Oregon and the delivery people will contact us. We drained and unhooked our old hot tub. We didn't receive any phone calls. My credit card was charged for a hot tub we had not yet received. I called Scott after a week, Scott lied and told me the delivery people were trying to get a hold of me. He gave me their number to call them and they had no record of me or the hot tub. It was no fault of the delivery drivers, they are just contracted by Master Spas. Finally negotiated a time for the delivery people to deliver the hot tub. When we got it we were soooo disappointed!!!! It was filthy! Apparently it was stored outside without a cover. All the scratches still there. The cracked corner piece was replaced like promised but was replaced with a panel that doesn't even belong to this model of hot tub!!! It doesn't match at all!!! What has happened to customer service??? Scott was bragging about all the ratings being A+ with the better business bureau. Really????? I am an average middle class American and $5000.00 is a lot of money to pay for anything, let alone a product that does not meet my expectations. I was also told this was a medical grade hot tub. I have had a few hot tubs in the past and was using them on a daily basis. This hot tub is below average. We paid way too much for a product that was substandard.

Michelle Miller

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas in Suffolk, Virginia - Another leak in my swim spa! :-(

Thank you for your recent review. We've reached out to the local dealer you purchased through to discuss the situation. We will also review their schedule as this time of the year is always a very busy time for pool and spa retailers. Thank you for your patience.
Review
#863454 Review #863454 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problem getting service and too many issues with the swim spa.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

It seems like every 4 months or so I have an issue with my sim spa. I realize it is a complicated piece of machinery but I really don't use it that often for it to have all these problems.

The latest is a leak that a technician from Innovative Spas tried to locate. He spent some time trying to figure it out then told me I needed to have a deck person take out the deck around the swim side and he left. My deck is designed in panels, easy to remove!!??? Now I can't get him back for a week due to their schedule!

I need a new technician! So frustrating.