Master Spas's reply to:

Watch Out Before You Sign!!

We recently received a complaint you posted online regarding an experience you had at a sales event. As a representative for Master Spas, a manufacturer of portable spas and swim spas, I would like to gather more information to see if we can be of some assistance to you.
I would like to point out that Master Spas, as mentioned above, is a manufacturer. We are located out of Fort Wayne, Indiana and build these products which are then sold to specialty, independent retailers. It seems that you have had this situation with one of these retailers and not an issue with the Master Spas product since you have not taken delivery of our product.
Master Spas, Inc is a global company with hundreds of thousands of happy customers around the world and we have an A+ Better Business Bureau rating as well as numerous other accolades including having multiple Consumer Digest Best Buy Award winning products. Our goal is to have complete satisfaction among those that own our products.
From your posting, it sounds like you entered into a sales agreement with a retailer of one of our products. In order to best help in this situation, we will need to know your name, the retailer you purchased through, the location, the specific model spa, and the sales persons name. All these should be found on the sales agreement you entered into.
Although we do not sell consumer direct and your sales agreement is not with us, we can then approach the retailer you dealt with to see if there can be a resolution that meets your expectations.
I'll look forward to hearing back from you and please let us know if you have other questions.

Sincerely,

Master Spas Customer Care
ID
#589994 Review #589994 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Master Spas Hot Tub
Reason of review
Poor customer service
New Reviewer

We went to their show at the fairgrounds, their ads were misleading. They were the only hot tub on display and all were the same color just different sizes.

We did get talked into buying one but when we got home we looked them up on the internet. Very poor reviews regarding the spa them selves and the customer service. Te following morning we were there as soon as they opened. We told them we wanted to cancel our order but they said they couldn't do that , we had to call the company on Monday.

We told them we did not want it delivered. On Monday we called and were told we had to pay the $6200 regardless of whether we took possession or not because we signed on the dotted line. They were not at all cooperative. Who pays for a product that they don't want and have never taken possession.

They insist we have to pay regardless.

Stay away from this company. I will add to this review if they refund my money without a fight.

Review from Redmond, Oregon

We purchased a spa at the expo center in Redmond. We saw the ad on T.V and after considering a purchase at a retailer for around 8500.00 we saw the ad and made a trip to your event. We spent time with a factory rep and we surprised to find out how truly different spas/hit tubs really are. We decided on a twilight 7.2 because of the neck and shoulder jets and also the mineral filtration. This being our second spa we were thrilled about not using all the chemicals for the water. We bought the spa on Friday and the tub was delivered the same day. We filled it up and were using it the same day. In one word it is amazing. A special Thank you to the delivery crew as it was not easy removing our old spa and setting the new one in our deck. The kids love the lights and waterfalls. I would recommend a Master spa to anyone looking. Thanks again to the whole crew. You made it very easy to decide to do business with your company. Built in the USA.
View full review
Testimonial

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#588928 Review #588928 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Reason of review
Good customer service

Review about Spa Show from Medford, Oregon

Re : Portland Oregon Spa Show.. Thank you for making our family's 1st spa purchase such a pleasant experience! Just got our Master Spa all set up yesterday and I can't get the family out of it !! Mineral system is amazing !!! Thank you Scott for helping us make the right decision .. We love Our Master Spa !!!! Steve and Barb Portland, Oregon
View full review
Testimonial

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#587164 Review #587164 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Medford, Oregon
Reason of review
Good quality
Master Spas's reply to:

Master spa nightmare

Thank you for your post. We'd like to be of assistance. Please contact our Customer Service Department at either 800-860-772 or customercare@masterspas.com. Thank you
ID
#569114 Review #569114 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Master Spas Hot Tub
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$11000
New Reviewer

I purchased a master spa and I have had nothing but problems. I told them I was building a new house and I had these "warrantees" that apparently expired the minute I moved the hot tub 6 months after I purchased it.

EVERY part has been replaced, no warrantees because of every reason in the world. no return calls from my dealer. At a cost of over $11,000 - I should have just put in a new pool with heat.

Even the cover that had a warrantee didn't apply.

I ordered that too because it was a bad cover.

good luck...

I paid over $5,000 in repairs already within the last 3 years. northing is cheap on this waste of money.

Master Spas's reply to:

Not Worth It

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Master Spas is proud to have an A+ rating through the Better Business Bureau and we are dedicated to ensuring Master Spas owners are satisfied with our products. We do not have you registered in our Customer system but would love for the opportunity to help resolved any issue you have. Please contact us at 800-860-7727. We manufacture several brands of hot tubs. Each has a unique warranty that we stand behind. We look forward to hearing from you.
ID
#550269 Review #550269 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
poor quality
Loss
$915

Bought a Master Spa, 2012 Legacy Series, had to replace the pump this week and used the repair person Master Spa recommened, the cost a whopping $915!!!!!! We were told we should really have a "bigger HP Pump" for better water flow, etc.

Total Rip off, I'm sure they are in on it together. 2 years old, new pump?? 1 year warranty is a joke. If they are good as they claim, why not stand behid your product.

*** off your customers, the word will get out.

I'd go to Costco next time, we all know they will stand behind anything. Won't be buying or recommending Master Spa to anyone.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spa Quality is very poor

Thank you for your post. We'd love the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com. We look forward to reviewing the matter with you and ensuring that you are able to enjoy your spa!
ID
#545806 Review #545806 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$15000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Bought my Micheal Phelps Master Spa six months ago. It gets light use (1-2x/week) but has had constant problems. Water flow issues, Heat sensor issues, Motor issues. Stage 2 only works occassionally. Eastcoast Spa in Horsham, PA is terrible. No service. Do not waste your money on this product or this company.

They advertise this until as being the ultimate spa but it has been far from it. We continually find the unit not keeping temperature. We have had to change the filters six times in six months. The original micro filter clogged in the 1st week and the manufacture advised not using it.

East Cast Spa does nothing to address the poor performance of the tub. Master Spa suggests the filters should last six months but they do not. Stay away from this poor product. Michael Phelps Twilight is a total waste of money!

1 comment
#885202

Master Spas is a joke

Issue is none

I have had my Master Spa going on 5 years and I have had nothing to be fixed of any sort on this. I own a 2009 and the family and I love it. We have family that come from out of town to use it or just to hang and have good times. Those of you that complain should give it a little the company will fix what is promised or warranted to you. They are a busy company and lots of people and companies still want, what you keep complaining of. The hot tub of someones dreams just not yours.
View full review
Testimonial

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#541145 Review #541145 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality

Review about Positive Experience from White Plains, New York

Bought a Master Spa at a show and got a great deal. Delivered on time as I paid in full. One small problem with the tub that was fixed within the week. I think as long as you pay for your spa promptly and treat the store with respect if you do have a problem, you'll be fine. You save thousands and everyone is quick to complain, but no one ever compliments.
View full review
1 comment
#911445

this is clearly a response from a dealer supporting the product... my master spa experience was so terrible when i sold my house I left it there.

I had problems with one of the pumps within 6 months and had to replace the other pump after just 2 years. not impressed with the quality.

I did however buy another hot tub and it's been a way better experience. Master Spas is buyer beware

Testimonial

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#539338 Review #539338 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
White Plains, New York
Reason of review
Good customer service
Master Spas's reply to:

Nothing but Problems

Thank you for your post. We'd love the opportunity to discuss this further with you. These are not normal issues you describe and our Corporate Customer Service as well as your local dealer would love the opportunity to help. Please contact us at 800-860-727 or customercare@masterspas.com. Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you so you can enjoy your spa.
ID
#538009 Review #538009 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Master Spas Hot Tub
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$10000
New Reviewer

1st when I purchased my tub at a dealer for Master Spa was told wait 6 weeks,wound up being 3 mo. NOISY told it should not be but no fix said the company didn't had no idea how to fix.

Terrible problems with water green ,cloudy foamy. this happens even if no one uses. Told my problem I'll have to figure it out.Ask questions about mineral filter answer I DON'T KNOW. Had a different spa for 14 years same house ,same water.

NO PROBLEMS with it. I feel like I just threw away $10,000 .

I live in The St. Louis area

3 comments
#891011

That is good to hear Brad. Can you tell me the trick to balancing the two correctly. Everything is in normal range, what else must I do?

#891010

I have green cloudy foamy water as well. Were you ever able to resolve the problem? And how?

#876208

If you know how to properly use chlorine and balance your water, it won't be green. That truly is user error.

View more comments (2)
Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Review in Plumbing fixtures category from Hermitage, Pennsylvania

We just received your contact information and we'd like to see if we can be of any help in this situation. We do not have a local dealer that sells our products in the Hermitage, PA area or that has held any sales event there. Please let us know the name of the dealer that you purchased the product through and we will be more than happy to contact them on your behalf. Thank you and we look forward to getting this situation resolved.
ID
#534018 Review #534018 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

We purchased a twlight spa from them at an expo center. We paid for it in full.

They said it would be delivered in 1 1/2 to 2 weeks. That was July 19th. They kept calling and telling us it would be delivered on a Tues and then it wasn't ready. They told us to make sure we got an electrician.

We decided to wait till after it arrived. They called and said it would be there on a Sat. Then called and said they were't shipping it till after LABOR day.....we said forget it, we don't want it now. Waited TOO long......kept lying to us....now they won't refund our money.....6,890.00......we don't even have a tub!!!!!

They are stealing our money!!!!!!!! We have contacted an attorney to help us........

1 comment
#891012

Were you able to get anywhere with the attorney?

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Commercial Review from Vancouver, Washington

As a representative of Master Spas, Inc., a manufacturer of award winning products, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize that you feel your recent visit to a spa show was a disappointment. Although your posting was attributed to Master Spas, we haven't done any TV advertising in the Vancouver, Washington area regarding a show or sale. In fact, our products are only available through independently owned and operated specialty retailers that provide complete service and delivery to their customers. We're sorry for the misunderstanding but hope you have since been able to find a hot tub to suit your needs. Thank you
ID
#531570 Review #531570 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised

What a joke of a show in Portland oregon. Planned my day, took time to attend and all they had was a small amount of tubs and swim spas only.

No outdoor living spaces or related items / displays . Paid 8.00 for parking and was out of there in 5 minutes.

TV commercial was mis-leading. Disappointed and a waste of my time.

2 comments
#935433

Thanks for the tip edf2076 and Ann - I won't waste my time and money tomorrow!

#935409

I went to the Portland show Jan 23rd 2015 I agree no outdoor anything. Maybe 25 spas no different dealers and all the same color.

Came home and saw the ad on TV saying 2900. The cheapest was 5400.

Glad we did not buy one after seeing all the bad reviews.

View more comments (1)

Review about Spa from Corpus Christi, Texas

Thanks master spas. I bought a master spa at your factory sale in Texas and in a few simple words, it's amazing. No chemicals to speak of and very quiet. This is our third spa. I wish we had known of your company earlier.
View full review
Testimonial

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#528330 Review #528330 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reason of review
Good customer service
Master Spas's reply to:

Bad News! Spa Pool and BBQ sale

Thank you for your post regarding your experience at a sales event held by a dealer of our products. We are sorry to hear of this situation and we'd like to reach out to the dealer on your behalf if this situation has not already been resolved. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com so we can discuss this matter further. Thank you.
ID
#527851 Review #527851 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Master Spas Sales Manager
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

We are seeking resolution on a deposit placed on a floor model at a convention center in Texas at the American Bank Center on the 29th of August 2014.

We have made a formal request to have our 500.00 deposit refunded to our Visa Account."

We Met with Travis the sales Rep in the afternoon on the 29th, We called him the morning of the 30th and requested a refund on our deposit stating that our concerns discussed the day prior were prohibiting us from going through with the sale. Our intent was to purchase a unit once we closed on the house. Travis told us he had seen and was aware of our concerns and was expecting the call.Later that morning we received an email stating that our deposit would not be refunded and we needed to read our contract. We then moved forward to the sales manager at the show, Glen Oslen, and discussed Chapter 39 Texas Business Commerce Code, the intent of the law being to protect consumers from Merchants in other than permanent places of business. It states and gives a 3 day buyers remorse clause if the purchase takes place in other than the business' permanent place of business. We were denied the refund and informed that the intent was to hold us to the contract we signed. That the intent of their company was to stick to their side of the agreement. After voicing our concern that this is against Chapter 39 and that we would like to work out a solution were advised to refuse delivery when the driver called. We are not sure why, the contract clearly states that delivery will not be scheduled until 50 percent had been paid and the remainder would be due at the time of delivery. We did receive a call from the delivery guy (Ben) and my gut instinct was to not refuse delivery but delay. I was very clear that we were not refusing delivery but wanted to wait until we settled the issue with the company before moving forward.

We have now made a request in writing to have our deposit refunded. This request was given to the manager on the sales floor our sales Rep and sent to the company as well. Our only recourse if the return is denied will be to file a dispute form with our Bank and Credit card company as well as the BBB. None of these actions are our preferred by us, we would have liked keep it simple.

No business card, emails, warranty information, no information package about products. Salesman printed a page schematic for electrician instead of providing a manual. Very pushy, incorrect on their knowledge of the law, good at misleading. Not a happy customer. Represented themselves as one company. No two phone numbers with the same area code. Hard to figure out who to contact. So we duplicated and went through Master Spas and Pool Spa and BBQ Sale.

4 comments
#864071

I would like to respond to this complaint. the Mesmer's put a deposit down on a floor model and agreed to take delivery in 3 days, after you phoned the salesman about you canceling you we're informed that the salesmen can not authorize a cancellation .

It is a holiday weekend. We all met and came to an agreement to try and sell the unit for you and refund your deposit. We did this for you and then you still went on line and complained. Shame on you.

we did everything to resolve this for you and bent over backwards to help.

Your money has already been refunded and the swim spa has been sold. As far as I am concerned it is your integrity that is in question not ours. All we were going to do was deliver the product that you agreed to buy.

There is no hard feelings here just a little disappointed that after all we did to resolve the situation you still complain. Good luck and best wishes.

#868459
@PissedConsumer864071

Wow, Really? Your reiews as a company are horrible, even used car dealers have better reviews.

I'm an outsider looking in but I sure know that you selling that hot tub again was not a big deal at all. And I also know that deposits don't always stick, esepecially if financing doesn't go through etc.

And lastly, do you really think that replying in the way you did this customer's post was the best way to influence the masses? Just the fact that you did this shows that you aren't concerned about a long term relationship and a second sale down the road.

#876259
@PissedConsumer868459

I kind of agree with the seller in this situation. You gave them money, they agreed to take it off the market that weekend and deliver it to you.

Just because you got buyers remorse or cold feet doesn't make it their fault at all. The problem started with you, not them. And if they refunded you, what are you crying about?

Grow a pair and be a man. Go through with a deal next time or don't waste someone's time to begin with!

#876514
@PissedConsumer876259

Thanks for your input greatly appreciated. Posting under anonymous makes your comment seem a bit less credible, almost like you are the company representative who posted a response under anonymous above.

However, buyer's remorse is okay and laws are written for consumer protection. Understanding your rights is imperative or companies that deal like this will tend to take advantage of consumers. My $500.00 was refunded by the company, because I knew my rights and stood my ground. Future business is not out of the question, the product was good, timing was bad.

However, concern for customer service may be a big deterrent for a future purchase. If this experience with sales is an indicator of how it will be dealing with this company in the future, running rather than buying may be the best option.

Your comment about Grow a pair, merely weakens your position in a debate or lowers the credibility of your argument. Stay professional in your comments, and you will be taken more seriously.

View more comments (3)
Master Spas's reply to:

Disappointment!

We are sorry for your experience and as the manufacturer of the product, would like to help if we can.

First, we do not show that you have a registered product in our system. Can you please provide us the serial number, model, delivery date? This will allow us to set an account up for you In our system and make any future communication much easier.

Since we are not aware of any issues with the product at this time, we would also need the name of the dealer you purchased the spa from. This will allow us the opportunity to contact them and discuss the delivery and service they have provided to you.

We are truly sorry for this situation and look forward to hearing back from you so we can get to the bottom of this situation. We are available at either 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com
ID
#527027 Review #527027 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Master Spas Customer Care
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Made a huge mistake purchasing a Master Spa from a fairground here in California and the American Made company in Indiana could care less about the problems we experienced and I'm sure it has to do with the fact that we bought it out here and it was supposedly at a reduced price close-out sale. Right--$6200+ later.

Our hot tub was supposed to have been delivered Aug 14 between 1-3pm so I took the afternoon off of work. At 2:20 driver called to say it would be between 4-6pm. We were taking our daughter to dinner since it was her birthday so we called at 5:30 to make sure they were close. Nope-they were still in San Jose (over an hour away). They would not change the delivery to the next day because they were leaving town. They finally arrived at 8pm. It arrived with no cover and no stairs. Driver said "someone ran in to them" so he would have them shipped out to us the next day or day after. Yeah, right. I got connected to the Customer Service Supervisor who promised me he would upgrade my stairs and my cover for my inconvenience. He did not. He also said he would keep me posted every step of the way on the delivery of these items. He did not. I was told by him my cover would be delivered 8/22 so this time I had to take the entire day off because I had no estimate of time. I emailed CSR Manager on 8/21 to tell him of my concerns but he wasn't bothered. Sat home all day waiting and at 3:30 or 4:00pm, the delivery company called to say they would be here Monday with my cover. So, I had to take yet another afternoon off of work on Monday to wait for my cover. In the meantime, I had to buy a tarp for my hot tub because it was getting filthy with debris from the trees. The cover is not an upgraded cover-it's the same lousy one we saw in the showroom. The CSR Manager who was supposed to keep me informed every step of the way basically dropped off of the face of the Earth.

So, after taking 3 days off of work and having to use my vacation days (which is ridiculous), I finally got my stairs and my cover on August 25. I bought and paid for the hot tub on August 9 and didn't get my stuff until August 25-almost a month. The whole process was entirely disappointing.

Oh-the CSR Manager said he would send me a care package. Nothing has arrived so I'm sure that must be a lie too.

Please do not buy from this company unless you live in Indiana and can walk in to their store and demand good service. They brag about being American made and I would appreciate that except for the fact that they do NOT care about their customers and if you buy from someone other than their store, you are totally screwed. You have no option but to keep the spa and are at the mercy of when they feel like getting your stuff to you. I am so disappointed. I hate this hot tub and this entire experience has made me ill.

Please do not buy Master Spa from a travelling show. They may be fine if you buy direct but who knows, it will probably break down in a week. I am not happy with my purchase and am completely disappointed in the lack of service I received. Also, if a guy named Duane who calls himself "24/7" tries to sell you the spa, run fast. He's not available 24/7-I heard from him once during the entire process and it was basically to tell me he couldn't help me and he referred me to this CSR Manager who was worthless. It's all a scam.

1 comment
#862761

Yes had same isue have had spa roe several years now but it never had a drain tech came to house removed bottom of control panel and I could not use spa .... Needless to say living in the North East it froze now lines are broken and I'm into repairs at about $800 three for service call two for new control ans another 300 for rewireing before we found that in leaks from the main manifold and What is that gonna cost to repair God Only knows !

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spa Customer Service Stinks!

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're sorry that you had this situation with the dealer that sold/delivered your spa. Our records don't show that our Customer Care Department ever received any phone calls from you but we are available at 800-860-7727 to answer any questions you may have. We'll be reaching out to your dealer to ensure that this matter has been resolved as well. Thank you.
ID
#523143 Review #523143 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Master Spas Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality

We bought our new Master Spa TS and it was delivered three days later. When there were problems getting it into the back yard for installation, they put the spa in the garage and said they would be back the next day.

Now we can't get them to call us back, the cell phones for the delivery guys don't have voice mail - so you can't leave a message. The factory said they would have someone back the next day. Here it is 5 days later and not even the factory will call us back. So now we have a spa in the garage and have to figure out how to get it installed ourselves.

Sure hope we never have problems were we need assistance from Master Spa! Buy from a reputable dealer - it's probably worth the extra money - rather than from the manufacturer itself.