Master Spas's reply to:

Spa failed at one year. Company refuses to consider covering cost of repairs

Thank you for your post. We'd like to get further information from you regarding this situation. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com.
ID
#450841 Review #450841 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$4000

We purchased our spa at what was advertised as a factory direct sale in Syracuse NY in July 2012. The reason for our purchase was theraputic as my husband has a fused spine from a car accident.

The spa was delivered the next day as they were packing up the circus was obviously leaving town the next day. We had our spa professionally installed in mid September because it took time to have a contractor lay the cement pad and do the wiring. We used our spa and properly maintained it accordingly for one year and two weeks. On September 25th we check the spa to find out that it was no longer operating and the circuit breaker kept kicking out.

We called the manufacturer who gave us the number for a local repair company and advised us that it was no longer under warranty. The repair ended up being for the pump/control unit and cost us close to $500 to repair. According to the repair place a warrenty of only one year is very uncommon and there should be no reason why the product failed at one year. I have been trying to take this issue up with Master Spa whose website states that they stand by their product after the sale to no avail.

Apparently not on top of it obviously being a very poorly made product. One of their main selling points is that it is made here in the U.S. and we were happy to support and maintain jobs here in the U.S. which was another reason for buying this articular spa.

Considering that technically the warrenty was only two weeks out of time they should have at least attempted to resolve our issue. Instead this company takes a too bad so sad attitude.

Be warned that while company boosts that they stand by their product on their website and states they make a the highest quality spa when the opposite is in fact the case. Be prepared to pay to fix this product or turn it into a very, very expensive fish pond in one year.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas will not uphold the warranty they told me I had with them.

Thank you for your post. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact us at 800-860-7727. The Twilight Series Spa you purchased has a 5 year Surface and Structure Warranty and a 3 year Parts and Labor warranty. The control panel is covered under the Parts and Labor warranty as clearly outlined in the warranty you printed off. We are sorry for this misunderstanding.
ID
#430571 Review #430571 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$500

We purchased a Twilight series spa at a show in Colorado Springs. We were told to register on line and we did.We printed out the warranty which said it has a 5 year warranty.

Now at 4 years, the control panel is out and they tell me I only had a 3 year warranty and the cost to fix my problem will cost over $500.00.Also when they delivered the spa the cover was back ordered for at least 3 weeks. What good is a spa without a cover. Then when we started using the spa.

The pump went out. That was covered under warranty but the spa was only one month old.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spa Stay Far Away

Thank you for your post. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact us at 800-860-7727. Master Spas, Inc. does not sell direct to the public. We are a manufacturer but would like to reach out to the retailer that you visited to discuss this with them. Thank you and we look forward to discussing this with you.
ID
#426055 Review #426055 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$6000

I was taken by this company! I am a college educated adult that has never been so *** in all my life!

I was recovering from surgery that is my excuse.

So at the expo we got told all kind of total BS and that the price was so great nearly 6000 for a 3 person spa. We were shown all the awards, promised high efficiency, promised the electric needs at my house to get the spa running would be under 1000 and that the product is superior. I immediately said, I will go home, call my electrician and than come back or call.

That was when heavy sales tactics took over, there won't be anymore spas, you should sign now because its a great deal.

So, two days later after doing the research and getting electric estimates I called to cancel my counteract (three days in CA) I received harassing phone calls from the delivery guy, the lady at the base office was rude and I never got a return call from the manager. I did get a call from my sales rep that talked me in circles , stated she has strong morals and would never do her job if it was not legit. So, they would not cancel my contract.

I cannot sale the POS because everyone reads the reviews, I was only dumb one that did not. And 4 electrician estimates later cheapest quote so far to get house up to par 3900. So that was a lie from them too.

Smooth talking cheats and a 6000 lesson in life for me. Oh and a brand new spa that will never be used.

Master Spas's reply to:

Love & Hate My Master Spa

Thank you for your post. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact us at 800-860-7727. Thank you.
ID
#418802 Review #418802 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$9000
Update by user Aug 26, 2013

On June 14, 2013 I posted about several problems. Now, a little over two months later, I would like to add that one of the main jet pumps is making some crazy noises, and most likely needs to be replaced.

So May of 2010 through August of 2013, circulation pump replaced, heater replaced-twice, bad filters, leaking LED lights, and now a jet pump needs to be replaced. What's Next???

Original review posted by user Jun 14, 2013

Went to a 2010 Spa show in Wilmington Delaware and purchased a Master Spa (Twilight 8.3) through West Chester Spas, Pa (No longer in business). Spa was delivered in May, 2010. I have to say I love the Spa, but have had yearly issues from day one! From the start, the circulation pump was bad. Spa was under warranty and was repaired, Great! Spring 2011- the heater went bad. Under warranty, Great! Spring 2012- Spa kept shutting down. After several days and several calls with West Chester Spa, it turned out one of the NEW filters was bad and not flowing properly. They replaced filters, Great! Spring of 2013- Noticed the water level kept dropping. One of the LED lights, which hadn't worked properly for about two years (but didn't really bother us) was cracked and leaking. Also the Spa kept shutting down. Why? Bad Heater!

One Month out of warranty! Not Covered! Customer Service tells me it's due to Bad Water Chemistry. Really!!! I am meticulous when it comes to any maintenance in my home. I have followed their suggested cleaning and filter & water changes. We spent $9000.00 on a Spa that needs a new heater every two years?

Randy

Media, Pa

Master Spas's reply to:

Everyone Complains, but I LOVE my spa!

Thank you for your post and glad to hear you are enjoying your Master Spa!
ID
#415147 Review #415147 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$1

It appears as if the website name says it all! I was searching for information online because I saw a commercial locally for a sale, but missed the times, and came across this online!

It is very disappointing!! I bought a spa from this company almost four years ago, and absolutely love it! I just wanted to go down to the sale to get filters! Why is it people only take the time to review things when they are angry??

Why is there not a website providing reviews called HAPPY CUSTOMER?? you know there is a lot more happy ones than "pissed-off" ones. Well if that website existed I would be their poster child! Sorry for not *** and moaning like everyone else on here, but I am happy!

I bet they won't even post this because I am not PISSED OFF!

I say if you read this, go buy a spa from them, you will love it! Don't let a few crazies ruin your chance at doing something you will enjoy!!

1 comment
Anonymous
#680737

I also brought the Clarity Spa range from a Master Spa dealer in my Dealer in my City found people very helpful in terms of giving me the right suggestions within my budget . Even the after sales people were very effective and helped me solve the filter problem on sunday even as per my suitable time

Master Spas's reply to:

Lawsuit between Master Pool and Spa or BBQ show

Mr. Yother - We're sorry to hear of your issue however we would like to point out that your issue is very clearly between yourself and a company called Master Pool and Spa and NOT Master Spas, Inc. We hope your situation has been resolved to your satisfaction. Thank you
ID
#397384 Review #397384 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problem with delivery

Master Pool and Spa, inc dba Spa Pool and BBQ show is suing me and I have counterclaim against them. Here is the information filed with the court.IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF GARLAND COUNTY, ARKANSASCIVIL DIVISIONCASE NO.

CV - 13-218COUNTERCLAIMComes now the Defendant, Harlan Yother, and for his Counterclaim against Plaintiff Master Pool and Spa, INC and d/b/a Spa Pool and BBQ Show, alleges and states:Mr. Duane Chapman and his supervisor Dan, sales representatives for Master Pool and Spa, INC and d/b/a Spa Pool and BBQ Show held at the Little Rock Statehouse Convention Center, on September 22, 2012 misrepresented and falsified to the Defendant the contracted product information agreed too at the time of signing for the customized HTX Force Spa pool to be ordered directly from the factory. Also, Plaintiff purposely withheld vital warranty details that would have stopped the Defendant from entering into a contract for said pool. Plaintiff did not deliver the contracted product.

The facts are as follows:Breach of Contract: Defendant and spouse were told the HTX Force Spa pool ordered would only need the one EcoPur filter that would make the pool chemical free and no other chemicals would be needed because this “special one-of-a-kind filter” patented system was designed especially for their products and in fact other added chemicals could potentially damage the EcoPur filter.Defendant and spouse were shown what the EcoPur filter looked like when the salesman displayed it on a table. The HTX Force Spa pool delivered on November 16, 2012 has a different filter system and there are two types of filters instead of one. Plaintiff sales representatives demonstrated to the Defendant where the EcoPur filter would enter from a top opening compartment and the ease of having to replace the one filter. Defendant was told that this type of compartment model would be ordered to be installed in the factory HTX Force Spa pool.

This same filter compartment is not on the pool that was delivered.Mr. Duane Chapman clearly “marked out” the square box on the signed contract, where the filter/skimmer box was first checked, at the specific request of the Defendant in agreement that the pool ordered would not have a skimmer and would only have one EcoPur filter like the model demonstrated at the show and viewed by both parties. Unfair and Deceptive Business Practices: Defendant and spouse were told that no pool chemicals would be needed with the use of the “special” EcoPur filter system. The pool arrived with six different chemical bottles and test strips from a “starter kit” to check the water chemicals in the pool.

The pamphlet in the box with the chemicals instructed that one bottle of chemicals was supposed to be used at initial water filling of the pool. Breach of Fiduciary Duty and Fraudulent Concealment: Master Pool and Spa, INC and d/b/a Spa Pool and BBQ Show sales representatives gave false statements about the service warranty on the contracted pool. When asked about local service providers, Defendant and spouse were informed that Master Pool and Spa, INC had “local service” people to handle any problems that would occur for five years for parts and labor. Defendant found out later, they did not manufacture the pool but another company called Master Spa, Inc.

does and the warranty was actually covered by the second company. Master Pool and Spa, Inc. salesmen failed to tell the Defendant that Master Spa, Inc. is a different company than Master Pool and Spa, INC and d/b/a Spa Pool and BBQ Show.The Master Pool and Spa, INC salesmen held back at the time of contractual commitment vital information about the warranty, in that a local service provider selected by Master Pool and Spa, Inc.

could charge a “reasonable fee for travel” from their company office to the location of the pool. Defendant was informed after the signing of the contract that the cost for travel alone could be between $3.00 to $5.00 per mile and travel expense is not included as part of the labor cost in the pool warranty. The service provider that contacted Defendant, due to a large broken jet on delivery that needed repair, was located in Fort Smith, AR which is 150 miles away from the location of the delivered pool. This would have been an extra unexpected expense burden to the Defendant of approximately $750.00 one way, or $1,500.00 roundtrip.

That particular warranty information would have stopped the Defendant from signing the contract. WHEREFORE, the Defendant prays that the Court will enter judgment in favor of the Defendant and against Plaintiff as follows:1. Plaintiff is to reimburse in cash the fully prepaid deposit of $15,852.75 by the Defendant. 2.

Defendant’s just and proper relief and damages incurred herein at a value of 3 times the cost of the contract, $92,115 due to the unfair deceptive business practices and fraud demonstrated by the Plaintiff in concealment of actual product details.3. For such other and further relief as the Court seems just in the premises.

12 comments
Anonymous
#850685

I received the same information when I purchased my spa 2 months ago and now we use chemicals every week. Not to mention the fact that I purchased the Tuscan Sun model which is beige in color and I received something they call Tuscan Sun and is Grey.

I have called them numerous times and also East Coast Spas they are the ones that did the show where I purchased my spa

I am very disappointed and have gotten no where with them

I'm ready to call my credit card company and have them deal with the company.

This is not what I was sold on.

Anonymous
#825059

We actually just purchased a basic lil unit today at a show...granted, there wasn't much to see since the advertisements stated BBQs and Patio Decor but the guy we talked too was actually really nice to us and answered all our questions. He actually did recommend putting a little bit of chlorine after every use and gave us his name and cell number if we had questions. So, right now, Master Spa hasn't been bad to us, and as far as we can tell, been upfront, or at least this particular sells man was.

Anonymous
#680437

Your an *** for not knowing that water chemistry is critical to all spa's and pools. Chemicals are REQUIRED to balance the water. The master spa system only reduces the use of the harsher ones.

Next time do your research before you make such a large purchase.

Alvino
#655126

:? Update to the lawsuit, filed in Garland County, Arkansas.

Master Pool and Spa, Inc denied each item in my counterclaim, as I expected. Now we go into the next phase, Discovery Phase. I get to ask them questions and to produce documents. They get to ask me questions too.

If this helps other people to know their rights, great! I will keep you informed.

PS.

they have 30 days to respond to my questions and to produce documents, like a copy of the warranty. ,)

Anonymous
#640432

Mr Yother, I sell the Master Spas in another state and have for over 10 years. I have sold 7 other brands over the past 30 years.

In the Master Swim Spas you get an upgraded filter. You don't have to use any POOL Chemicals and the ECO PUR filter system Master uses much less SPA chemicals over the average spa. It really is a great system. If you call the Master Customer service line at (800)860-7727.

The Master Spas customer service people are great to work with. They will help you find a closer service company. What city do you live in? The Master Spas are easy to work on if it needed.

They use high end parts that can be bought at any local spa or pool service company. If you bought the swim spa for under $45,000 you got a good deal on it. You obviously bought the swim spa for certain reasons. You should get it installed and use it, you'll love it.

In Michigan, many customers use them all year long.

Also travel fees or trip charges are common in the spa industry. The good thing about Master is they quickly pay dealers back for service and they do care about making their customers happy with their spas.

Alvino
#655134
@PissedConsumer640432

I live in Hot Springs Arkansas. The Fort Smith was the closest place and with the travel cost was $3 to $5 a mile, I can not afford the expense to fix the pool each time it breaks down.

Worst case: 300 miles round trip times $5 equals $1500 to pay for travel, which would stop me from buying a pool that is not locally supported. The local dealer quit selling Master Spa,Inc., at least a year ago, pools because of the distance that Master Spa, Inc wanted him to travel.

He said to me that if he was still in business, he would not charge a travel expense. :sigh

Anonymous
#660869
@hey622011

As far as providing only the facts Mr. Yother it appears as if you left out a few EXTREMELY IMPORTANT ONES!!

CURIOUS AS TO WHY THEY ARE SUING YOU? IS IT AT ALL POSSIBLE YOU FORGOT SOMETHING??? LIKE PAYING FOR THE SPA SITTING ON YOUR PROPERTY?? WHY ELSE COULD OR WOULD A COMPANY SUE A CUSTOMER?!?

NOT SURE OF THE LAWS WHERE YOU IVE, BUT THAT WOULD BE CONCIDERED STEALING IN MY STATE, AND IN THE EYES OF GOD!

I WILL NOT SPEAK PUBLIC DETAILS OF AN ONGOING LAW SUIT THAT I HAVE BEEN RESEARCHING AFTER READING THESE POSTS, BUT CAN AND WILL TELL YOU EVERY POST YOU ARE MAKING COULD APPEAR BEFORE A JUDGE. SLANDER IS A REAL THING TO CONCIDER WHILE MAKING "COUNTER CLAIMS" AND ONCE YOU PUT YOUR "VERSION OF FACTS" OUT THERE THEY DON'T JUST DISSAPEAR!!

GOOD LUCK TO YOU SIR. :grin

Anonymous
#759360
@PissedConsumer660869

This type of threatening comment from "Anonymous"? Really? P-L-E-A-S-E pass this along to anyone considering buying a spa.

You have got to be kidding - people buy this *** from these clowns? Pathetic. How do you guys sleep at night?

Anonymous
#785095
@PissedConsumer640432

I have to jump in here.... 25 years in the spa service business " and warranty for Master Spas" and have YET to find ANY spa product like a "filter" that does NOT require adding "pool chemicals".

Lets be sure everyone understands, POOL CHEMICALS include those needed to maintain proper chemistry AND those required to keep bacteria from getting a foot hold. FILTERS DO NOT affect changes to water chemistry, EVER. Filters CANNOT stop bacteria from growing in your pool or spa! the eco-pure branded filter (which is nothing more than a copper and silver imbedded filter) is no different then any of the other copper/silver ion based products like "The Frog", Nature 2...

they all do the same thing, but both of THOSE products clearly state that you have to maintain 1ppm of Chlorine... WHY? because without it they are not effective... The manufacturer of Nature 2 was banned from selling their product in the state of CA for nearly 4 years until they changed the verbiage in their product advertising to include the 1ppm minimum of chlorine, because without it, consumers were getting sick from NO EFFECTIVE SANITIZER PRESENT in the water.

So stop believing the BS... throw out the eco-pure, get a normal everyday filter and start sanitizing the water the only way that really works... either Bromine or Chlorine are the only recognized sanitizers that any water health agency allows for public use pools and spas... Why?

because the smoke and mirrors products fail to meet the minimum standards for sanitizing. Why should your private pool or spa be any less safe than the public ones? And for the original poster...

I'd like to see how it all comes out in the end... I hope your focus to effectively illuminate the spa industry BS for what it really is...

Anonymous
#798449
@PissedConsumer785095

Bravo.... here you can read "the voice of reason". Totally agree.

View more comments (11)
Master Spas's reply to:

False Advertising-warranty not as promised etc.

Thank you for making us aware of this situation. Master Spas is proud to have an A+ BBB Rating and strive to make every Master Spa owner satisfied. It looks like you purchased through a local dealer, as Master Spas does not sell factory direct. We will reach out to your local dealer to discuss these issues with them but also feel free to contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com.
ID
#392758 Review #392758 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$8000

Went to the "Spa Show" put on by Master Spas. We have a vacation rental house in mountains.

Salesman, "Buddy" said repeatedly that the EcoPur filter need NO MAINTENANCE. Just add 1 TB shock when you start and then 1 Tb. about once a month. No test strips, no other chemicals etc.

Told us the there was a 3-year warranty on mechanicals - pump, motor etc. He was a slick salesman & I made the huge mistake of believing what he said, not reading the fine print. There is 1 year warranty on mechanical- not 3 yrs. Called David's Home Entertainment in Waynesville, NC after reading materials that came with spa.

Chris was very apologetic & said Buddy "should not have told you that - all spas need chemicals & testing." Chris said he would send me some chemicals & a replacement filter. Nice but certainly doesn't make up for 2 years warranty.

Two days later & I haven't called him back to complain about warranty yet-won't do any good.

Master Spas's reply to:

Bait & Switch

Thank you for the post. We’d like the opportunity to get more information from you on who the dealer was that you visited. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com. We strive to make sure our dealers are providing the best possible service to potential customers and Master Spa owners alike and we would value your feedback. thank you
ID
#385318 Review #385318 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

I would have purchased a spa yesterday from Ron at the Bakersfield Spa, Pool & BBQ show, except for ONE thing!When I asked about 12 months same as cash financing, as that is what was being advertised, he replied that they add 8% to the purchase price to cover their cost to finance 12 months same as cash. Right there it told me I was NOT dealing with a reputable saleperson or company.

It's not only false advertising, it's the classic 'bait & switch'. You can't have 12 months same as cash financing if you charge interest and tack it onto the purchase price!

5 comments
Anonymous
#820074

That was actually the only honest salesperson you've met....if you think no interest no payments same as cash isn't added to all retail pricing go to your bank and tell them you want the free money!!!

Anonymous
#783728

My wife and I went to a show and was quickly suspect as the sales people were extremely pushy. Each model we looked at was " we only have one left." Plus couldn't get a straight answer on warranties on the unit.

Just felt very sleazy and *** Plus, all the models had "sold" signs on them but insisted that my whole family climb in and out of several even without my wife and daughter removing boots with heels. If it was my spa I would not want joe public climbing in and out of a spa i just purchased without asking them to remove shoes. Thank goodness we went on our phones and read a little more about the company and decided to hold off. Do more research and yes, if need be, spend a little more on a local dealer we can walk into the store and get service!

Thanks for all the helpful reviews.

FYI, we really did like the looks of some of the spa's.

Anonymous
#723693

I have a feeling I know who the salesman was, and unfortunately for you he is one of the most honest guys you could ask to deal with in the hot tub industry. Unfortunately, what was stated in the other comment is very true.

Oftentimes, that same as cash deal that sounds great to you, also costs money to the dealer, which is why paying for things in full with cash or checks equates to you getting the best deal.

I wonder if you know that using your credit cards also costs the merchant money??? Nothing about what you said has anything to do with bait and switch...

Anonymous
#640443

Sounds Like Ron was just being honest with you and giving you choice. When I bought furniture last month the saleswoman told me that 12 months same as cash cost them 10% so she said you could buy the set for $2000 and get 12 mo sac or pay cash and get it for $ 1800...Makes sense to me and I thanked her for the choice.

I bought a boat at the boat show 2 years ago and not only saved $5000 on the floor model, they gave me almost the same option...24 mos sac or 15% more off for cash. I took the cash offer, banks make enough money off of all of us...

It's not false advertising or bait n' switch...just choice.

Anonymous
#822340
@PissedConsumer640443

Dayna Titus is a cheater and a Liar! Dayna Titus goes around spreading lies about herself and lies about people she is jealous of.

She is so phony she looks deformed! Dayna Titus's nose is deformed by having a bad nose job years ago, it was HUGE and now is still big but also lumpy. Her chest is uneven and makes her body look deformed and bizarre from having breast implants so many times. This women is a total drunk and is delusional about her own self image.

Very paranoid head case. BE VERY CAREFUL AROUND THIS CRAZY, DISGUSTING BITTER DAYNA TITUS!!!!

View more comments (4)
Master Spas's reply to:

Ms Pissed Off

Thank you for your post but we're sorry to hear of your situation. Master Spas, Inc. does not sell to the public but manufactures several award winning brands that are sold through independently owned specialty retailers around the world. We hope your situation has been resolved with your dealer and please let us know if we can be of help at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com
ID
#375142 Review #375142 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$6000

I bought a spa from the Travelling Spa, Pool & BBQ Show. They will scam u on the paperwork if you don't read the fine lines.

The salesman quoted a monthly payment I would be comfortable with just so they can make a sale & then ask you to sign document & initial several places. Once you buy you are STUCK. There is no one to refer back to if you have further questions. What really pissed me off was the fact that the bank they do business with (GE Capital) will put it on a credit card without telling you.

The salesman will not point this out to you. It is stated on the paperwork so read everything & be careful. My payment turned out to be much higher than what I told them I could afford on a monthly basis. I would not have bought the spa if they were going to jack me on the price.

In that sense the salesmen are scammers. The equipment is as is so be very careful & inspect everything. Never got a loan where the bank puts it on a credit card & then charge you a first time user fee even though you did not ask for credit card.

WATCH OUT. i WILL BE COMPLAINING TO THE BBB.

2 comments
Anonymous
#640457

Mr. Anonymous-For future purchase everyone knows that you can go online to bankrate or other site and input interest rate, amount owed and months to pay back and get a monthly payment.

I have financed on GE Capital and they give you a credit card so if you pay off your purchase, you don't have to apply for another loan, you have an open balance to buy. They didn't charge me additional fees, but ever state law may be different.You say you got jacked on price, but you only payed $6000 for a Master Spa???

I sell Master Spas as well as others and they usually start at $8000 and go up to $ 19,000. So it sounds like you got a good deal.

Did you buy it from Master Spas or a dealer?

Where do you live? Where did you buy the spa?

Call the factory at 800-860-7727 if you ever need anything.

They are easy to work with and they have an A+ rating with the BBB.

Anonymous
#641751
@PissedConsumer640457

But now this person has a credit card that he/she didn't ask for and if the card isn't used their credit score will be affected in a negative way. It's just nice to know up front.

View more comments (1)
Master Spas's reply to:

Beware of Master Spas Travelling *** Show

Thank you for your post. From the details you provided, it doesn’t sound like you ever contacted the factory. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com if we can be of help. Thank you
ID
#333479 Review #333479 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

We bought a "new" spa during the Kent, WA show at the Showare Center. The spa was wrapped in shrink wrap so you couldn't visibly see the entire resin surface.

When it was delivered there were (5) deep gouges on the control side. We took pictures and called them. They told is that we bought an "as-is" spa on the floor. They did not disclose the damage at the show, but concealled it with the shrink wrap.

They will not let you talk to anyone in management when you call their business.

There is no customer service once they get your money!!! BEWARE!!!

13 comments
Anonymous
#668437

I was interested in the swim spa, and even after some negative feedback I may have still considered doing business with them, if they handled it more professionally. Insulting unsatisfied customers on a public forum.

What a shame these sales/dealers/customer service folks have got to pull it together. To the powers that be, the time,effort, and cost to clean up the front lines will pay back ten fold.

Alvino
#605704

To keep people updated about the Master Spa Swimspa.

The filter jet is still broken, because I will not pay traveling milage of up to $1500 to replace it.

I have not heard from them in the past three weeks after I told them to come pick the swimspa and return my money.

Alvino
#589666

I have tried to work with Master Spa and BBq show - Kevin and now Ross Ericson. Here is the email message from Ross:

Date : Jan 03 2013 11:29:23 AM

From : MASTER POOL S (19524761153)

To : Harlan Yother

"Good morning Harlan, my name is Ross Ericson. I'm the owner of Master Pool and spa. I understand. We have some issues with the swim spa that you purchased from us when you call me back. I'm gonna give you my personal cell phone number. Area code 61236937176123693717. Thank you"

--- Brought to you by Vonage ---

I called him and nothing got resolved. The EcoPur filter is not the same one they brought to the table and showed my wife and I. The filter is different than the one that is in the pool. The pool will not use any chemicals because of the EcoPur filter, but when the pool arrived, a box of chemicals came with and to be use with this filter system. :( The warranty to fix the broken water jets requires a preson that will come from Fort Smith Ar, 150 miles away @ $3 to $5 dollars a mile ($900 to $1500 around trip) to replace a water jet. I worry about the next time the pool breaks. I would have never bought this pool if the salemen told me the truth. They said "locally service people would be available and the pool did not need chemicals because of the EcuPur filter. I told Kevin then Ross to pick up the pool and return my 50% of the $30,000. They have not responded and I will never accept a pool that I did not order.

Anonymous
#582134

At the Spa, Pool & BBQ Show we pride ourselves on trying to provide the best customer service possible. Any un-resolved issues can be quickly resolved by contacting our Customer Service Division at 952-543-0220.

If you contact us, any customer service or service needs (weather your under warrantee or not) will be handled as quickly as possible.

We are in business to provide a great product, backed by a great warrantee, to help bring relaxation to your life, at a discounted price.

We are hear for you not only during, but after the sale of the unit. Any questions or concerns you have can be addressed by contacting our Customer Service Division.

Anonymous
#861741
@PissedConsumer582134

Horrible grammar for a company representative.

Anonymous
#578331

I was mislead by Kevin group at the "Master Spa and BBQ show in Oct 2012. I was shown a h2xforce spa with no black skimmer on the step side.

This one that was delivered had one. They said all hx2force spas are built the same and I sm wrong. Does anyone have a picture of the swim spa without the black skimmer? I was misled too about the chemicals, we ask them over and over agaim if it needed chemicals and they said that the EcoPru filter will handle the chemicals and I would not need to put any in the spa.

What a lie. PS Kevin calls me all the time to get the other 50% of the spa money because I would not accept it until I check it over..

Do not pay or sign the delivery document until you are happy with your spa. It is a mess with Kevin

Anonymous
#654702
@PissedConsumer578331

Mr. Yother I have worked in the hot tub industry for many years and I have worked with the Master Spa product line for the last 6 years.

They are built the same. You were not mislead.

You seem to have an awful lot of time on your hands. I do not know Kevin, but to me you seem like a pain in the *** :p

Alvino
#655115
@PissedConsumer654702

You are right, I am retired and I have the time. I put my name on the line, who are you "12345"? :zzz

Karen J
#567719

Please contact Master Spas directly:They can help you !

Customer Service

800-860-7727

customerservice@masterspas.com

Sales

sales@masterspas.com

Anonymous
#564737

I too just bought a swim spa from the Spa Pool and BBQ show in Myrtle Beach and asked for a manual and business card, of which they could not provide either. They also said it used no chemicals which was one of reasons I went with Master Spa.

Had no idea there were so many reports to BBB! I had to have concrete slab poured because it would not fit where I had anticipated and am waiting for it to set before I can fill it with water.

They were pretty rough in moving it from their truck to the ground. If I have problems, including customer service, after spending almost $20k, I will be joining in on the class action law suit!!!

View more comments (12)
Master Spas's reply to:

Master spas momentum

Sorry to hear that you are having issues. We'd love to be of further help but will need some more details from you. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com. We'd love to help. Thank you
ID
#291011 Review #291011 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

if you have had any trouble with master spas momentum built between dec. 2009 and dec 2010 please email at badmasterspahx2@gmail.com I purchase a momentum in dec of 2009 and set up april of 2010 and had nothing put trouble I need help to get the problem solved with my swin spas thanks the tub was a new swim tub that master spas put on the market. The swim tub came from the Oklahoma city from a master spas dealer they are not very helpful or fast about solving problems I am trying to see if there are other people who have problem with this tub or this dealer in the okla area

4 comments
Anonymous
#680025

The biggest mistake folks make is thinking they are going to get a great deal by traveling to one of these shows to buy such a large ticket item. They break just like any machine and I just prefer to have a local DEALER that took my money take care of it.

I have never seen so many negative, argumentative, sleazy sales people attack people that paid too much and didn't get what they thought they were getting. I have been taking care of these units for years and for anyone to believe all you need is a little baking soda is both naive and misleading. Buy local from your local dealer to get a better deal and better support after the sale.

Now all the Masterspa show sales team and there reps can mark this *** Good luck to all.

Alvino
#594401

I need service on my Master Spa Swimspa and they do not have any local service tech people, so they siad they would sent a person from Fort Smith Arkansas which is 150 miles away. The cost for travel ( not included in warranty) could be as much as $3 to $5 a mile = $900 to $1500 round trip. I will never doing business with any Travelling Master Spa and BBQ show.

Harlan

Anonymous
#536843

We sold a few Momentums in that range and had few problems. However, Master Spas factory service was responsive and helpful as can be.

Our customers are happy with their product. I'm sorry you have an unresponsive dealer.

hottubjeff@comcast.net

Anonymous
#416848

Contact the factory 260-436-9100, they are usually very helpful

View more comments (3)
Master Spas's reply to:

Master Swim Spa H2X

Thank you for your post. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com. This situation with your suction cover was beyond our control and we’d love the opportunity to explain it to you. Thank you
ID
#260872 Review #260872 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

I had a problem replacing my inlet suction cover which was broken at the bottom of the steps. Master Spa will not sell me a direct replacement and that I would have to go with a different type.

I would have to flip the spa on its side and basicly replace all 3 inlet suction fittings.

Do you know how much a 8 foot by 17 foot spa weights and I would need a crain like that to move it. You just can do that and the weight would probable crack the spa being on its side.

So I replace their cheep covers with Stainless steel fittings that I bought off of E-bay for about $14 apeice and replace them all and it only cost me about $45 dollars to replace all 3 covers instead of the pain I would have to go through.

6 comments
Anonymous
#916345

Same issues. Unbelievable.

They don't sell the part because the suction can KILL YOU OR MORE LIKELY A CHILD. Costs 1000 to retrofit less powerful suction.

They know this but refuse to issue a recall or fix the problem. They're going get sued into bankruptcy .only matter of time

Not Unlike GM knowing their ignition switches were killing a small number of people but found it cheaper to do nothing!!

Anonymous
#742520

Can you share how you made the covers I am experiencing the same thing with my hot tub. Thanks

Anonymous
#571127

Same problem, where did you find the SS rpelacement covers?

My email is gbowhay@gmail.com

Anonymous
#442568

Same problem. Please let me know what you guys bought!!

My email is harryfeinberg@gmail.com. Thanks!!

Anonymous
#351118

This is the exact same problem I am having with my LS850! Can you give any info on who the replacement fittings were purchased from?

I've been looking everywhere! Thanks!

Anonymous
#652523
@PissedConsumer351118

I have the exact same problem. Where can i find the stainless steel fittings? Any help is much appreciated!

View more comments (5)
Master Spas's reply to:

Masterspa refused to fix damage caused by their warrantied part

Thank you for your post. We'd love for the opportunity to discuss the situation with you further. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com. Thank you
ID
#250346 Review #250346 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Warranty issue

The heater to my masterspa failed at the end of the winter. When I went out to check the water, I discovered that as a result of the failed heater, pipes had frozen and cracked.

Masterspa is replacing the heater under warranty but will not warranty repair the freeze damage resulting from the failed heater. Masterspa's warranty excludes freeze damage. They take the position that the warranty excludes freeze damage, even when caused by the failure of a part which is warrantied.

For a product costing more than $10,000, advertised as the best of the best and intended to be used in the Northeast in cold weather, their approach to customer service is truly appalling. I would never buy their products again.

4 comments
Anonymous
#915099

I do service and technical training for 11 Major hot tub manufacurer's. Masterspas is one, as is Hot Springs, Jacuzzi, Sundance, Artesian...

to name a few. None of them cover freeze damage.

Anonymous
#536834

Chris is absolutely correct. if you live in a cold climate and you don't check on your spa once in a while, then you are to blame. As a MAster Spa dealer for 11 years and a technician for 21 years, I can tell you that no one stands behind their products better than Master Spas and most are terrible.

Under warranty, Master Spas replaces the entire heater component including the sensors, not just the element.

hottubjeff@comcast.net

Anonymous
#536833

Chris is absolutely correct. if you live in a cold climate and you don't check on your spa once in a while, then you are to blame. As a MAster Spa dealer for 11 years and a technician for 21 years, I can tell you that no one stands behind their products better than Master Spas and most are terrible.

Under warranty, Master Spas replaces the entire heater component including the sensors, not just the element.

hottubjeff@comcast.net

Anonymous
#471035

Every single manufacturer of spas does not cover freeze damage like this. Your heater is a a Balboa, absolutely top of the pile. You must have left your tub for a very long time for this to have happened.

It would be like expecting Ford to replace your car because your tire blew and you crashed...

View more comments (3)
Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spa Sucks

Thank you for your post and bringing this to our attention. We’d love the opportunity to discuss this more with you. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com
ID
#240250 Review #240250 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

I, too made the mistake of buying a Master Spa from Stevenson Pools. BTW Stevenson is whole different and lengthy complaint!!

I am getting ready to file suit against Master Spa.

I have had my stereo and TV serviced 12 times and still they don't work. The finish began to crack after the first year. I called MS and they told me they would give me a $60.00 credit against the cracked finish...the spa cost me $15000.00!!!!

CAN YOU BELIEVE IT??

The only relief will come in court. I will let you know the suit proceeds.

7 comments
Anonymous
#536891

It shouldn't matter where you buy the spa....its all about HOW the spa is made. If its shoddy workmanship..then the spa will break down as mine has.

My suit has been filed and I will let you know the outcome.

If anyone else has had similar problem...please let me know.

Maybe we should consider a CLASS ACTION suit????

Alvino
#590056
@PissedConsumer536891

I am behind you 100%. Tell me about the lawsuit.

Master Spa and BBq show should be denied access to any customers in Arkansas because they have no local service techs. The swimspa in not chemical free because of the EurPur filter, as both salesmen said at the show.

I told them this is not the pool I order and for them to pick it up and return my 50% of $30,000.

Harlan

Anonymous
#817868
@PissedConsumer536891

We are having a similar problem and would like to find out more about the law suit. I think class action is needed. My name is Dave email dsuo2009@yahoo.com thx

Anonymous
#536835

It sounds like dealer problems and not spa problems to me.

master Spas is one of the best spas on the market today. But like any product, not infallible. That is where the dealer comes in.

Sounds like you guys bought from poor dealers.

hottubjeff@comcast.net

I'm wondering if Gevans or Carlos has taken the opportunity to contact Master Spas who in my 21 years in the business has one of the most responsive customer service depts i have ever seen.

Anonymous
#293997

I have an older model Legend 1050, I have had the techs out several times to service my spa too. They are very expensive and do not know what they are doing. The first tech told me that I needed 3 new pumps and a new board and to be prepared to spend upwards of $3,000. Two fuses and lot's of Google research later, I was back up and running (spent $10 on fuses).

The spa department of the pool house I went to are a bunch of baboons.

I do not endorse Master Spa, I wish I never bought this *** thing in the first place, it has been a nightmare.

Magdalyn
#812544
@PissedConsumer293997

Can u please direct me to the info u found on the web for your 1050 master spa. I am we'll am having fuse problems.

Thank you!

Anonymous
#292547

We would love to be of help in resolving this matter as quickly as possible. Please contat Master Spas Customer Service at 800-860-7727 or by email at customerservice@masterspas.com. We look forward to hearing from you.

View more comments (6)
Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas are Junk. Can't get service.

Thank you for your post. We'd love the opportunity to discuss this further with you and your local dealer. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or customercare@masterspas.com
ID
#223025 Review #223025 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$10

I have only had my Master Spa for a year and have had nothing but problems with it. The heater has failed twice and I have had to replace the main pump.

The worst thing is that when I drained it to replace the pump I noticed that the acrylic in the bottom of the spa has a blister and crack in it. I have contacted Master Spas and the dealer I bought it from Leisure Works and they will not do anything about it.

I spent over $10,000.00 of this pile of junk and have nothing good to say about either company. I just want this thing gone and I will never by a Master Spas again.

16 comments
Anonymous
#586982

Master spas of wisconsin will give you a good sales pitch but once they drop your tub off, you are on your own. The swim spa manuels are not user friendly and the controls are difficult to figure out, and you can't get a decent explanation by even calling the manufacturer in IN! Buy a spa locally so you can have the seller come out and give you a lesson.

Anonymous
#536839

Kreg, Chris, SpaLady and Robert are dead on. I have 21 years experience as a service technician and currently work for a Master Spas dealer in NY.

In the 12 years we have carried the product, Master Spas has never given us any reason to doubt their commitment to the customer, the product or the dealer. The have out performed every other brand I have worked with.

I'm not saying they are perfect, nobody and no product is. The difference is how they respond when there is a problem.

For Chris C in NH. I know the dealer there personally and have contacted him on your behalf.

Anonymous
#658844
@PissedConsumer536839

We purchased a Master Spa a bit out of the territory we live in and have had a lot of problems. The same problem really that never gets resolved.

Since the seller is 2 hours away, they are pretty much only giving phone support, though they claimed they sold a lot of spas in our local area (when giving the pitch). There was a oily residue upon the 1st fill of this spa and we have dumped it about 8 times since trying to get rid of it. I am being told that I am the "only person this has ever happened to" and that it has to be a water quality issue.

Well.....since we have brought in water from four cities, that cant be the issue. Spending a little money to get this piece of *** out of my life will be a pleasure!

Anonymous
#534691

I have a Master Spa Legend 1080 spa. In my area, finding a quality service tech is close to impossible.

My dealer went out of business, left me stranded with outstanding warranty issues, and the service companies would take weeks to show, and weeks later to come back....and guess what....without the parts to fix the problem. I called Master Spa directly and there was actually no way to talk to a person, really. I've been pleased with my spa, but it has outstanding service issues dating back to when I purchased it. I'm going to try Master Spas number noted in another posting tomorrow and start this over again.

I'm still within my 5 year warranty and currently have bad electrical control problems. millertime802@gmail.com.

I ain't afraid of ghosts. Master Spa...please feel free to email me.

Anonymous
#503283

I've had the pumps repaired twice,the cheap plastic shutoff valves are worthless,nonstainless steel bolts and screws require a sawsall to move the control panel and bolts that secure the pumps,access to pumps are ridiculous,I paid top dollar for this unit,I show as many people as I can your unit, good luck with sales in Ct.

Anonymous
#498881

Purchased a new spa in mid may and haven't been able to use it because unable to control temperature of water. Constantly increases to plus 104 degrees.

Have contacted a service technician which it took over a week to responed, he finally came out which cost us and he reset board (10 mins. he was here and cost 125.00) and then he left. Problem continues. Also, when they were taking panel off I had to show them because they were doing it wrong.

Also, we have not recieved steps to spa which has been over a month and have called with no repsonse. Have been very disappointed with the service and the performance of Master Spa's. How you have maintained a A+ with the BBB is beyond me.

If I could, this spa would be returned in a heart beat. And yes, I am a for real customer.

Anonymous
#377031

We have been a Master Dealer for over 20 years in the Michiana area, and have over 6,000 Master Spa customers with Master Spas & Swim Spas. We have experienced very few service issues with their products, and I find it very hard to believe "any" consumer contacted Master Spas regarding any service issues with their Master Spa products and we not immediately taken care of.

One thing I will say about Master Spas is "they stand behind their products" 100%. if their dealer has customers with problems with their products, they will repair and/or replace that product immediately. I know, they have replace a couple for us through the years, no questions asked! If your local Dealer is blowing you off on service on your Master Spa, call Master Spa directly at 260/436-9100.

Trust me, it not Master Spa the manufacture that's not resolving any issues you encounter. They pay the deLer to do "what ever it takes" to resolve customer issues if they should arise. Want/need help resolving any issues you have with your Master Spa product, call us, we'll help you resolve your issues.

We're Spas Factory Direct in Mishawaka Indiana. Just ask for Robert.

Anonymous
#345550

Is it? I just spent close to $30,000 on a pool/spa and reading this has me concerned. I've contacted tech support several times and I seem to get brushed off.

Anonymous
#310471

:grin This is so obviously not a real customer... a local dealer who has lost too many sales to Master no doubt...

the control and heating system are Balboa... top of the pile, all the top brands use this system.

2 heaters, a pump and a shell fault... give me a break... :grin

Anonymous
#292710

I agree with the representatives of Master Spas. If a customer makes a public complaint, then refuses to respond when the manufacturer or dealer tries to resolve the problem, they are probably bogus!

competitors who resort to this type of misinformation are a blight on any industry.

Customers who have legitimate complaints need to give the dealer or manufacturer a chance. I would also like to say that this is another reason why consumers should only buy from local, established businesses, not fly by night road shows.

View more comments (15)