Master Spas's reply to:


Thank you for your posting. Our factory trained Customer Service Representatives are at your disposal and here to answer any questions you may have. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or We look forward to assisting you and make sure you are enjoying your hot tub. Thank you
#485765 Review #485765 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

I purchased a spa at the local fair ground . .

. big mistake - no local dealer!!!! It took nearly 10 weeks - and now I canNOT be hook tub because there are two tags - one that says 110 elec and another that says 240 elec . .

. I called and the not so helpful man at MS says it is 110 . . .

but the electrician is nervous. . . which is it???

Duh? The salesman who PROMISED good service doesn't even return my call . . .

AVOID this company - rotten service . . . .

. Buy from a local dealer who has a commitment to you the customer - and not form these rotten bums.


If your electrician can't figure it out.....I would advise getting a new electrician. I do not think I would want to get into a hot tub if the electrician can't figure out if it is 120v or 240v. That said it still does not justify the lack of customer support.

Just a Thought


what do you mean the electrician is nervous, LMAO! you need a real electrician.

you can hook it up either way.

but, I would only hook up to 220v. it saves you a lot of time heating and a lot of money every month on the electric bill...

View more comments (1)

Master Spas - I love my master spa

I purchased a twilight spa 7.2 as I need it for my chronic arthritis. I saw an advertisement for a factory direct sale and went to inquire about a spa. I purchased a spa after reviewing this website I was a little concerned. I was asked to look at the BBB and it was an A plus. The salesman then explained that these sights are not regulated and most of these blogs are from there competitors. After having my spa for 3 months I felt obligated to say how incredible my spa is. As far as I can tell my power bill has only gone up 15-20 dollars and the mineral system that we upgraded to is amazing. I was terrified to spend that kind of money on a hot tub but we are happy we did. Thanks for listening.
View full review
1 comment

Look at the BBB for the company that actually puts on the shows. Master pool and spa out of MN. There are very many complaints.


Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

#477247 Review #477247 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good customer service


Now we vacation in our own backyard. The safest place on earth. We sleep better and wake up fuller rested. Better than paying $100 a week to get a Massage at Massage Envy. The neck and shoulder jets are fantastic. The master blaster foot massagers are the best. They are easy to take care of, easier than a pool. Great Spa!!! Great People!!! We have a hot tub, my friend has a Michael Phelps Swim Spa and they really enjoy it. You can work out in water with a treadmill or stainless steel underwater exercise bike. They use it all the time.Keep up the good work. Brian Green
View full review

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

#590465 Review #590465 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality
Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Horrible Home Show Experience!

Thank you for your post. We'd like to get more information on who you bought our product from so we can contact them on your behalf. Please contact our Customer Service Department at either 800-860-7727 or Thank you
#472729 Review #472729 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problem with delivery

I purchased a swim spa from a home show in New Jersey, what a steal. I was taken to the bank with it. They delivered a lesser sized model than I put a deposit on and would not refund my deposit when I refused to take delivery of a different model.

Honestly, deal with a reputable company that is within driving distance of where you live so issues can be resolved eaily and in a timely fashion.

DO NOT buy from a "show team" as they are there for one thing, SALES.

They do not care about you once you've giving your hard earned cash for deposit.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Fraudulent Business Practices

Thank you for your posting. We'd love for the opportunity to learn more about your experience. The sales event you describe was not held by the manufacturer, Master Spas, Inc. but by an independently owned dealer however there are a few discrepencies in some of the things you describe. We'd love to get to the bottom of this for you. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or Thank you
#456811 Review #456811 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

Beware of these guys, they are CROOKS. Went to the Orange County event in September 2013 after seeing and hearing mega advertising on tv and radio.

I noticed there was not much inventory for sale (near the end of 2nd day). I was told that they would sell out all their inventory and then take orders for product and deliver after the show (requires a deposit). The slick salesman told me that the spa did not need chemicals because of special filter. I then asked him why I could smell chlorine and he avoided answering.

Dumb me that was my first indication of their fraudulent business practices. The product has an appealing look and the salesmen know how to lie, I mean sell. I was persuaded to make an offer on a larger spa than I originally was looking at due to features and "an exceptional deal." The exceptional deal was due to the fact that the unit had some cosmetic damage to the outside of the tub. (The pricing was good compared to the ridiculous high asking price).

I told the salesman I needed to verify that the spa would physically fit in the location of my existing spa. i made a remark on the contract to that effect. I did notice that the contract stated in several locations that ALL DEPOSITS ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. The sales guy told me before I signed the contract, no problem if the spa will not fit we will cancel the contract.

GUESS WHAT, after signing the contract and confirming within several hrs that there is no way the spa will fit they refused to refund the deposit. Their action despite the fact that the salesman admitted that they were able to resell the unit AND at a HIGHER price than I agreed to pay. Why would you keep a customer's deposit when you have not lost any money unless you are a crook. They graciously agreed to allow me to purchase any other product with the deposit.

it was at that point I did what i should have done earlier, investigate who was behind BBQ Pool and Spa Show. At the show I was introduced to a "factory representative." i called the factory and was told that this person was not a factory representative and had no connection to the factory. I was also told that the factory had no connection with the BBQ Pool and Spa show, but yet the factory offered to honor my deposit towards a future purchase. These guys (BBQ Pool and Spa) are sleazy and dishonest.

I checked the product and warranty information posted on the manufacturer's web site and found more inaccurate (or should I say outright lies) information made during the sales presentation regarding product warranty. Plain and simple it is fraud. Look at the posting made by the guy who has a valid warranty claim (Spa keeps heating - temp *** The factory and the seller BBQ Pool and Spa Show both walked away from this problem because it was going to cost them to much to correct.

I am happy that I didnot purchase from these guys.

Robert - HB

1 comment

No spa can clean with just an ozonator and shock. Forget that filter within a filter too..

just ***. When I asked for some documentation, they referred me to a website that was actually not their own. And, no sales rep would give me his business card. These spas are flimsy, very shallow, poor quality of plastic.

The spa we did purchase is gorgeous and manufactured 20 minutes from my door. We purchased from Coast Spas ....

comparing a lemon to a BMW. Go with quality.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Water heats up while in use.

Thank you for your post. We'd like to get more information from you so we can review this situation. You mention that you have communicated with our Customer Service Department. As a result, we will have some records of this communication but in order for us to access these records, we need you to reach out to us so we can know who you are. Also, do you have your spa inside or outside? "Thermal creep" can happen in mid to warm climates just as heat loss can happen in cool to cold climates. We'll look forward to discussing these things with you if you reach out to us at either 800-860-7727 or
#453014 Review #453014 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

I purchased a Master Spas Twilight Series 7.2 hot tub from Orange County Pools and Spas in Middletown, NY in May 2013. Since then, I have had nothing but trouble. The primary issue

is what is called “thermal *** Thermal *** I have discovered, is when the hot tub’s water temperature continues to rise, while in use, above the temperature that the tub’s thermostat is set to maintain. In the case of this tub, the water temperature will continue to rise by 1 degree every 15 minutes for the time that is in use. For instance, the outside temperature the other night was 60 degrees and the hot tub’s thermostat was set to maintain a water temperature of 97 degrees. After 50 minutes of use the water temperature was 100 degrees and continues to rise an additional degree every 15 additional of use until turned off. The Orange County Spools and Spas Service Technician came to our house and ran the tub, observed the temperature rise himself, acknowledged that this problem was occurring and stated that it was not normal for the hot tub to operate in this manner. The technician called Masterspa from my home to inform them.In an attempt to address this acknowledged problem, the Orange County Spools and Spas Service Technician returned to our home several times and replaced the mother board, control panel and both pumps. It should also be noted that one of the pumps was already failing at this point (leaking water about a month after purchase) at the time and needed to be replaced anyway. None of these actions rectified the thermal *** problem. Ben, from the Orange County Pools and Spas Service Department, also told us that he ran the same model in his store for 2 continuous hours and the water temperature only rose 1 degree and agreed that our tub was not operating as it should. The Orange County Spools and Spas Service Technician did acknowledge that the excess heat was being generated by the friction of the pumps themselves and that the tub has no mechanism for cooling itself off.

I have serious health issues, including Lupus and Fibromyalgia. My only son was also recently killed in action in Afghanistan. The hot tub provides a measure of relief from my physical pain and stress, but if I can’t stay in the tub for more than 15 minutes at a time, it makes the tub useless to me and pointless to have. I paid $10,000 for this tub and I should be able to use it. All of my friends who have hot tubs and all of my online research indicate that this degree of thermal *** is not normal operation for a hot tub and should not be occurring. Orange County Pools and Spas’ final offer to us was to charge us $400.00 to come and pick it up, sell it in their show room as a used tub and whatever price it sold for would be paid to us. This is a new hot tub! This tub is under still under standard warranty, we paid for an extended warranty and the problems began- and Orange County Pools and Spas was notified- within 2 weeks of the tub’s installation in our home. This is not how you stand behind the purchase of a new- and expensive- product.

After we had exhausted all attempts to correct the problem, we requested that Orange County Spools and Spas take the hot tub back and refund our money. We were then told by the Orange County Pools and Spas Service Technician – who originally acknowledged the problem because he observed it himself during his first home service call- that we shouldn’t run the tub for more than 15 minutes at a time and that we should add cold water if the temperature rises. Neither of these solutions are expressed in the hot tub’s owner’s manual, nor does the manual state that it is normal for the tub’s water temperature to continue to rise. We talked to the Service Department at Orange County Pools and Spas and to Customer Service at Master Spas, the tub’s manufacturer. Each pointed the finger at each other in regard to approving a refund. We have sent numerous e-mails to Orange County Pools and Spas, and to master spa, regarding this issue and they have not responded. They did reply to our e-mails promptly prior to our purchase of the hot tub, though. They did finally answer us through Orange County Pools and Spas Face Book page and stated that this was normal operation for this hot tub and that a refund would not be approved. We advised them that they are leaving us no further recourse and that we would be consulting an attorney and contacting the Better Business Bureau. We also told them that we were considering posting the details of our ordeal to online consumer websites, so that others would not have to go through what we went through. The person on the Orange County Pools and Spas Face Book page then made a veiled threat by stating “beware that all slander issues will be pursued”. I asked several times who I was speaking to and that person ignored the question and refused to identify himself/herself. So now, I have a $10,000 hot tub that is only 3 months old, that I cannot use, cannot be repaired, cannot get a refund for and a veiled threat from an unidentified person at Orange County Pools and Spas to pursue legal action against us for “slander” if we tell our story (we did save and print the Face Book exchange). This is not good faith business. Instead of providing the relief from my illnesses that I thought it would be, it is causing additional stress and possible financial hardship. If you are reading this, please avoid making the same mistake that we made by purchasing a Master Spas hot tub. Master spa claims we the tub is working, I guess a working tub you can't use the jets more than 15 minutes according to them. however you can use the jets on the lower settings. which is really low that you really cant feel. When we bought the Tub we where never informed of any of this. so they lie to you to get you to buy their tubs. if anyone wants to come over and try my tub let me know I can show you first hand this tub is bad so do not waste your money.. Master spa won't even offer me another model. So don't say I didn't warn you. I did my research and I did see that their were some bad reviews, and after seeing the tub, I said it can't be all bad. boy was I wrong. Now I'm stuck with a 10,000.00 tub that just sits on my deck. once its off of warranty I'm dumping it and getting a new one.. if you decide to buy one good luck.


We visited their show at the Tradex recently just to look at them because none of our investigations into tubs included them. We did buy a superior tub from Coast Spas, and it is amazing.

Anyway, it didn't take me long to recognize bald-face lies when I heard them. 1) No spa can clean with just an ozonator, shock and filters. 2) I smelled the clorine, too 3) No documentation or sales card when I asked for them 4) Sold signs on tubs, how *** do you think I am? If that wasn't a hook, I don't know what is..

the place was empty of customers. 5) cheap plastic covers and short shallow tubs made with very cheap plastic. You have to visit other places to recognize terrible quality.

Sorry you got burned... literally.


we don't use our much which is sad. when it dies will be shopping for a hot tub that has nothing to do master spa, and it will not be with the local guys.

they all tell you what you want to hear. next time we will spends months studying every hot tub out there. we did visit other places this family owned company seemed to own many of the stores. their were only a couple we could go to, and my husband like this one and it was local if something is wrong with it.

the lawyers told me it would cost me more to take them to court so they said it wasn't not worth it. You live and learn. for the guy who thinks the video is *** it was the only I could show the temp going up on a chilly night.

He must work for master spa. ill check out Coast spas..


i'm a service tech very familiar with master spas and think your problem is related to the pump motors that master spas uses... part of the issue could be a total lack of fresh air getting to the pumps.

master spas has repeatedly OVER insulated around the pumps causing them to run hot... it might be worth looking into this.


that's the stupidest video I've ever seen! there must be operator error? I've had a master spa LS700 for 8yrs with not one problem!


I noticed there are several "bs" ratings on these statements

We also have a master spa 7.2 with the temp *** issues

We have also replaced both pumps and just yesterday the 24 hr circulator

Pump died causing a electrical phase issue tripping 2 50a breakers

And the 200a main for house. Had electrician verify everything electrically

Was ok and it is...... For the money our experience has been

Very costly with this spa and we would not buy another master spa

Product. Although very nice in appearance it constantly has problems

And is an energy hog. Our electric bills have increased 80.00 per month

Running at 100 degrees and used for 1/2 hr twice a week. Again we feel

The product is not worth the money or aggravation of leaks, pump failures,

And the hassle we should have heeded the poor reviews

This may not be your experience with the product but it has been ours unfortunately


I'm sorry your having the same problem. we have complained to master spa and they wont do anything.

I hope people read this and do not buy any master spas tubs. once ours dies we will be getting a new one. It's was waste of money. its sad I can't wait for it to break down for good so I can get a new one.

master spa is trash.

it Looks nice but it will cost you. yes our electric bill went way up when the sales person said it wouldn't


View more comments (5)
Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Master Spa Momentum problem was fixed by Master Spa

Thank you for your posting and glad to hear that your Momentum swim spa is running great now. We appreciate your patience and hope you are enjoying the swim spa! If you need anything else, please feel free to contact us at 800-860-7727 or Thank you and happy swimming!
#450996 Review #450996 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good customer service

We bought a 2010 series Momentum 50 Master Spa. We had problems with the swim spa from the very start.

We were in contact with the dealer every few months and they came to fix the spa at least 6 times (2 hours drive each way), but the problems kept returning. The problem was largely that the swim spa area would heat up and we were not able to lower the temperature to a comfortable level. There was also a recurring problem with the propulsion system.

After 2.5 years, Master Spa decided to solve our problem permanently. They sent two service technicians from Wisconsin to Cape Cod, Massachusetts (20 hours drive) and they worked for two very long days to completely re-plumb our system.

It now works like a charm. They charged us NOTHING for this exceptional service, even though some of the repairs were out of warrantee.

To all the complainers I only have to say that Master Spa delivers on their commitment and stands behind their product. All it takes is patience and persistence and good record keeping, but that is true for all large purchases.

1 comment

I would love to know what exactly they had to do to replumb your hot tub.

We are experiencing the same problem in that you cannot control the temperature, and it overheats constantly. The dealer and manufacturer are talking about cutting vents into the shell to compensate for the over insulation.

But it sounds like they had to do more than that with your hot tub.

Could you advise?

thanks so much.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Spa failed at one year. Company refuses to consider covering cost of repairs

Thank you for your post. We'd like to get further information from you regarding this situation. Please contact us at 800-860-7727 or
#450841 Review #450841 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

We purchased our spa at what was advertised as a factory direct sale in Syracuse NY in July 2012. The reason for our purchase was theraputic as my husband has a fused spine from a car accident.

The spa was delivered the next day as they were packing up the circus was obviously leaving town the next day. We had our spa professionally installed in mid September because it took time to have a contractor lay the cement pad and do the wiring. We used our spa and properly maintained it accordingly for one year and two weeks. On September 25th we check the spa to find out that it was no longer operating and the circuit breaker kept kicking out.

We called the manufacturer who gave us the number for a local repair company and advised us that it was no longer under warranty. The repair ended up being for the pump/control unit and cost us close to $500 to repair. According to the repair place a warrenty of only one year is very uncommon and there should be no reason why the product failed at one year. I have been trying to take this issue up with Master Spa whose website states that they stand by their product after the sale to no avail.

Apparently not on top of it obviously being a very poorly made product. One of their main selling points is that it is made here in the U.S. and we were happy to support and maintain jobs here in the U.S. which was another reason for buying this articular spa.

Considering that technically the warrenty was only two weeks out of time they should have at least attempted to resolve our issue. Instead this company takes a too bad so sad attitude.

Be warned that while company boosts that they stand by their product on their website and states they make a the highest quality spa when the opposite is in fact the case. Be prepared to pay to fix this product or turn it into a very, very expensive fish pond in one year.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas will not uphold the warranty they told me I had with them.

Thank you for your post. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact us at 800-860-7727. The Twilight Series Spa you purchased has a 5 year Surface and Structure Warranty and a 3 year Parts and Labor warranty. The control panel is covered under the Parts and Labor warranty as clearly outlined in the warranty you printed off. We are sorry for this misunderstanding.
#430571 Review #430571 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Warranty issue

We purchased a Twilight series spa at a show in Colorado Springs. We were told to register on line and we did.We printed out the warranty which said it has a 5 year warranty.

Now at 4 years, the control panel is out and they tell me I only had a 3 year warranty and the cost to fix my problem will cost over $500.00.Also when they delivered the spa the cover was back ordered for at least 3 weeks. What good is a spa without a cover. Then when we started using the spa.

The pump went out. That was covered under warranty but the spa was only one month old.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Master Spa Stay Far Away

Thank you for your post. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact us at 800-860-7727. Master Spas, Inc. does not sell direct to the public. We are a manufacturer but would like to reach out to the retailer that you visited to discuss this with them. Thank you and we look forward to discussing this with you.
#426055 Review #426055 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

I was taken by this company! I am a college educated adult that has never been so *** in all my life!

I was recovering from surgery that is my excuse.

So at the expo we got told all kind of total BS and that the price was so great nearly 6000 for a 3 person spa. We were shown all the awards, promised high efficiency, promised the electric needs at my house to get the spa running would be under 1000 and that the product is superior. I immediately said, I will go home, call my electrician and than come back or call.

That was when heavy sales tactics took over, there won't be anymore spas, you should sign now because its a great deal.

So, two days later after doing the research and getting electric estimates I called to cancel my counteract (three days in CA) I received harassing phone calls from the delivery guy, the lady at the base office was rude and I never got a return call from the manager. I did get a call from my sales rep that talked me in circles , stated she has strong morals and would never do her job if it was not legit. So, they would not cancel my contract.

I cannot sale the POS because everyone reads the reviews, I was only dumb one that did not. And 4 electrician estimates later cheapest quote so far to get house up to par 3900. So that was a lie from them too.

Smooth talking cheats and a 6000 lesson in life for me. Oh and a brand new spa that will never be used.