Master Spas - My second Master Spa

I had a Master Spas hot tub before and it was over 15 years old, so I replaced it with the same brand. I've had very good interactions with their team. They were very personable and they followed through with what they said they were gonna do. They were handy for me. The tub has very good quality and we are quite pleased with it. I use it every day. It's therapeutic. – Gary B
View full review
Testimonial

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#1407899 Review #1407899 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality

Master Spas - Happy with our spa!

I saw a Master Spas tub on one of the conventions I had. It has all the features I wanted and it’s perfect. They also had good reviews. I looked at four different manufacturers and one of the things I really like was the energy efficiency of Master Spas because there’s some of them that use three times the energy to heat the water. The Master Spas team set the tub for us and it was pretty much plug and play. It works great. I love the quality of the tub. We use it at least two or three nights a week and it has been amazing. It has helped us sleep and helped muscle aches from the gym. It’s working great for everything we bought it for. We are very satisfied. So get one. – Peter P
View full review
Testimonial

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#1407897 Review #1407897 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality
Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Tech support

Hello! Someone from our customer care team will be in contact with you soon to see how we can help. Thanks for the feedback!
ID
#1385639 Review #1385639 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Restarting hit tub ti heat

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Master spa junk

Hi Dennis! We’re so sorry that this has been an issue for you – however since we’re the manufacturer of the spa, and the missing/incorrect parts were ordered from both Swim Spa International & your spa servicer, there’s not much we can do on our end about those parts. Those are two separate companies from us, so we don’t have any way of knowing if the parts orders they’re fulfilling are correct or not. At this point, I believe a member of our corporate customer care team has reached out to both you and Swim Spa International regarding this issue. We hope you’ll be back to fully enjoying your spa soon!
ID
#1385162 Review #1385162 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

spa delivered 9/21/2017 talked to Lydia 5/24/2018. 3 jets not working needed 3 sent 2. ordered filters 9/30/2018 they sent wrong filters packing list was right item no.268804 set of 3 filters they sent 2 of the wrong filters. 10/2/2018 talked to Lethia needed 3 new jets ordered 3 received 2 one of them was wrong jet. 10/4/2018 Richard Landcaster installed new heater and

ordered me 2 new jets 10/16/2018 called Richard had not received jets yet

he called them order had been miss placed . received jets 10/17/2018

one was right one wrong or broke and still have jets that don't work right

I had a jacuzza spa for 13 years only one jet went bad after 11 years one heater after 10 years and didn't have problems getting the right parts

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Damages and customer service

Hi Lance. I apologize that you have not had the best experience with your dealer. We are only the manufacturer of the spa, so unfortunately we often don’t hear about situations between the retailer and the customer until we get a review like yours. I want to let you know that our corporate Customer Support Supervisor has reached out to the company that sold you the spa, and has been working to help get these issues resolved for you. We apologize for the poor experience you had, and we thank you for your honest feedback.
ID
#1384359 Review #1384359 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Delivery and customer service
  • Customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
1.9
Details

upon delivery they damaged 5 pavers and ripped ceiling fixure out of ceiling.and 2 months latter they have still not taken care of me.they said they would give us chemicals instead of doing repairs I said ok and I will do the work,i called 6 times just trying to get my chemicals.they put us on hold for extended amount of time when we call in.and they don't answer my phone calls when they see it is me,they are very rude.motor was out when we received the spa took them 2 weeks to get out here to fix it.would not recommend buying from this company.we had better service with cal spas and sun dance.we do not know how this company could be high up on list.they tell you they will do something and they don't.have not been happy with master spas and have only had spa for 3 months.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Twilight 6.2 faulty from factory

Hi Trevor, thank you for making us aware of this situation. At this point, I believe you’ve been contacted by Noah in our corporate customer service department and that he, along with the people at Hut Tub Universe, have been helping you get these issues resolved. Thank you for your honest feedback – we appreciate it, and we look forward to hearing that you are enjoying your spa very soon!
ID
#1370020 Review #1370020 is a subjective opinion of poster.
2.0
Details

Over 2 months too get it too my door.

In just one week of ownership, this is our problems so far.

Came with the wrong size cover.

Came with a faulty foot jet cluster master blaster that was missing two white rings and kept popping out of its spot .

Now a check valve is leaking all over the inside of the styrofoam,losing valuable water, n chemicals.

I have video and pictures once contact is made from master spa directly. My dealer is amazing so far trying too correct the problems, where is the quality control for your company master spa ?..

I demand too get my extended warranted extended for another 5 yrs, obviously this is a Friday nite shift tub.

What’s next FFS...

Thanks for the review. We’re sorry if the warranty was misunderstood. I’d be glad to explain it and will even forward you a copy of the warranty again to hopefully clear up any confusion. As you’ll see in the appropriate section, the ozonator is covered for 1 year...
View full review
ID
#1366919 Review #1366919 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Greenville, Texas

Master Spas - So far excellent service

4.3
Details
I purchased a unit over a year ago and had to delay bringing it home. No worries, they held on to it for me and then actually found a buyer which allowed me to purchase another model - the HL-7 - which I was more interested in. In preparing my walk-out for the spa, they provided pictures and advice on where to bring the power to and also recommended additional supply purchases for the spa so that I did not have to keep coming back every few month. Overall service (phone and email) has been prompt - Alfred leading the way. I will take possession of the new unit in mid-October and will update my review at the end of December 2018.
View full review
Testimonial

Master Spas is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#1366524 Review #1366524 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Reason of review
Good customer service
Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Worst experience ever

Hi James. Thank you so much for reaching out about this – please know that I’ve forwarded your contact information and your review to our corporate customer service department. They should be in contact with you soon to discuss how we can help. Thank you for your honest feedback – we appreciate it.
ID
#1364432 Review #1364432 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Dealer experiences
  • Support
  • Poor customer service regarding warranty
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$16500
Preferred solution
Full refund
1.2
Details
Master Spas - Worst experience ever
Master Spas - Worst experience ever
Master Spas - Worst experience ever
Master Spas - Worst experience ever
Master Spas - Worst experience ever
Master Spas - Worst experience ever

We bought an H2x swim spa trainer from Travis at a spa expo. We had to get the spa craned into a back yard, and when it was on the ground it had bird *** and water all over, and there was *** on the floor of the spa.

Travis told us that this hasn't happened in the 25 years he has worked with the company. He promised us that the spa would be replaced with a new product. Then a couple of days later, we were contacted by Dave with customer support and told us there was no way to get it replaced and we couldn't return it. We were told it would be repaired and that was the best we would get.

So, $16,500 in, and we get something broken. On top of that, we haven't received the stairs, or exercise equipment that was supposed to be included with the spa.

And, we don't even get a user manual with the spa. I would never recommend this product.

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Customer service is a joke

Hi Gabriel. Thank you for reaching out – it is our understanding that our team has been working with you and has been able to resolve this issue for you. We appreciate your honest feedback, and we trust that you are now enjoying your Master Spa.
ID
#1364133 Review #1364133 is a subjective opinion of poster.
1.4
Details

I needed my filter housing replaced they sent a guy to fixe it after 1 month of waiting he drill through the new fliter housing, his fix is to use some kind of puddy to sot the leak and now 3 ?onths later it is still leaking!! DO NOT BUY A MASTER SPA

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Worst customer service, response, delivery and the spa still

Hi Shona and Albert. We’re so sorry to hear that you feel this way. After looking through our database, we weren’t able to find the spa’s registration based on the contact info provided with your review. Based on your phone number’s area code, we’re assuming it’s Master Pool & Spa. Our corporate customer care team is in contact with them and will be discussing what we can do to get someone out there and fix your tub. We thank you for your honest feedback, and for your patience as we work to get these issues resolved for you.
ID
#1360631 Review #1360631 is a subjective opinion of poster.
1.0
Details

I cant tell you how bad this experience has been purchasing this spa,it still doesn't work. Nobody has come to fix it despite Numerous calls to the service department,managers,they want me to take down my BBB complaint but have not resolved that it isn't working.NEVER ever use this company,EVER,worst service I've ever experienced,just read for yourself the numerous bad reviews this 'company' has-they should be put out of business-im sure they'll go bankrupt,and we're stuck with this piece of *** i feel definitely taken advantage of!!!

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - We got a LEMON hot tub

Hi Chris! We’re so sorry to hear that you’re having this issue. Your feedback has been forwarded to our corporate customer care team, and they have been working with your dealer to discuss how we can resolve this for you. We understand your frustration, and would appreciate your patience as we work to find a solution to the breaker tripping issue. Thank you for your honest feedback – we appreciate it.
ID
#1359129 Review #1359129 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Update by user Nov 07, 2018

A Masterspa technician came out and replaced hot tub components again. after they were done I refilled the hot tub and brought up temp.

I let it run at 103 degrees for a week with NO PROBLEMS. I again tried turning the temp down to 90 degrees and when it ran its first filter cycle after it tripped again. this was about 30 minutes after turning the temp down. I called the service department again and was told they would have to contact the factory and get back to me .

This has been about 4 weeks now.

I have left 2 messages and still have to been called back. I am really tired of this not being taken care of....

Original review posted by user Sep 18, 2018

In June of 2017 we went to the big Masterspa blowout sale at the Wisconsin state fair park. We bought a Brand New hot tub.

We were asked if we wanted a floor model and said NO. Two weeks later when the tub was delivered they brought a floor model. Turns out that the salesman wrote it up as a floor model even after we said NO to a floor model. We have had problems with this Floor model tub since we got it.

When we turn the temperature down below 95 degrees it trips the breaker, Not right away but I think it is tripping when it runs the filter cycle. If we leave the temperature up above 95 degrees it never has a problem. Masterspa of Wisconsin has been out at least 20 times and have replaced about every part they can think of. They then told me it had to be my breaker.

We tried a new breaker at the cost of $200 and still had the same problem. They then said to install a grounding rod. We did that and still have the same problem. They said maybe it was my wiring so I had that checked out and that was all fine.

Now they are back on the breaker again. I was even told by one of there service guys that maybe I should replace my whole breaker box. That seems a bit absurd! If it was a problem with the wiring or the breaker it would happen all the time not just when the temperature is turned down.

I have spent more time making calls, leaving work , and stressing about this tub that it this point I just think I want my money back. This tub is a Lemon and not worth the time and stress it had caused me

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Great hot tub!

Hi Dave. First off, let me just say that we’re so glad that you enjoy your Master Spa, and we’re pleased to hear that your dealings with our customer service team have been positive. Regarding the shipping costs, our warranty is clear that we don’t cover those costs. We hope you will enjoy your new spa and get years of enjoyment out of it. Thank you for your honest feedback – we appreciate it!
ID
#1356997 Review #1356997 is a subjective opinion of poster.
4.6
Details
Master Spas - Great hot tub!

Have a master spa and love it! It’s been 3 years and haven’t had a single problem!

Till now . The clear was peeling and I called them. Customer service has always been great and they agreed to replace the tub with a new one . The warranty is the only issue I have.

The product was addmitted to being faulty but the still want me to pay around 800 for shipping!

I don’t think a costumer should be responsible for a defect! Other than that the tub has been great .

Master Spas's reply to:

Master Spas - Worst purchase I've ever made

Hi there! We’re so sorry to hear that you are having issues with your spa. Looking back through our email and call records, we don’t see that we had any previous contact with you – so you were most likely talking to your dealer, and unfortunately with contact information we were given we weren’t able to find any registration information for your spa. However, we do still want to make sure you’re able to fully enjoy your spa, so we are going to be having one of our corporate customer care representatives reach out to you to see how we can help. Thank for the honest feedback – we appreciate it!
ID
#1350212 Review #1350212 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I've spent the past few days worried and searching for answers. I've spent over a $1000 on an electrician for this company to continue to ignore my issues..

I called and was brought to tears by a staff member who was so rude and talked down to me and left me so hysterical that my husband had to call and try to resolve the issue.the terminal block on my masterboard is faulty. I know this because i have called out two different companies to check out why it won't work. Your company says its the wiring... i assure you it's not.

All i want is answers and help. I went with this company because it was American made and known for its customer service i don't know who to contact or what to do.

I just bought my tub one week ago and I'm getting told you guys can't help me. Can someone please make this right

Resolved
Master Spas's reply to:

Resolved: Master Spas - Love my Spa - hate customer service

Hi Gretchen. First off, we’re so happy to hear that you love your spa! However, after checking our database, we show no record of you contacting our corporate customer service department. We have Master Spas dealers located all over the country, as well as internationally, and we do have some in your area. We want to make sure that the issues with your spa get resolved so you can get back to enjoying it to its fullest extent, so one of our corporate customer care representative will be in contact with you shortly to see what we can do to help you. Thanks so much for the feedback, Gretchen. We appreciate it!
ID
#1347427 Review #1347427 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Update by user Oct 05, 2018

Finally Masterspas contacted me. The company they use to service their spas contacted Spa Master who simply sent us replacement parts. Master spa authirized the service and we had to pay the trip charge of $125 (which should have been waived since they'd dropped the ball) but my beloved spa is back in working order!

Original review posted by user Sep 05, 2018

1st I want to say how much I LOVE my MasterSpa- I have the Twilight 67.5 and I adore it! It literally is my favorite inanimate object.

The problem? If something goes wrong there is no local presence to have parts or service.

The Warranty does not allow for service to your spa - and the company will send you part and tell you how to replace but does not provide service.

If you complete the repair incorrectly - will they cover issues stemming from this??

Sometimes you have to live and learn. When it is time to replace my beloved Master Spa I will go to a company who will service the thing!!!